College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of California-San Diego

Public

La Jolla, CA

Visit website ↗

University of California-San Diego is a public very large school in La Jolla, CA, enrolling about 34,948 undergraduates. Admissions are selective here -- roughly 27% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Computer Science shows the strongest outcomes -- $159,487/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate27%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads34,948
Yield (admits who enroll)21%
Next deadlineSingle filing period

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$38,701
4-year grad rate87%
Median earnings, 10yr out$84,943

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of California-San Diego's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of California-San Diego weighs your application

From University of California-San Diego's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankConsidered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayVery important
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityImportant
Character/personal qualitiesImportant
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyImportant
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workImportant
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of California-San Diego actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of California-San Diego weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans21%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out82%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$53,319/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biomathematics, Bioinformatics, and Computational Biology$123,320/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$72,491/yr
Biology, General$64,437/yr
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$64,428/yr
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$61,799/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$52,701/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$89,451/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$67,302/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$159,487/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$149,139/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$118,150/yr
Biological/Biosystems Engineering$111,677/yr
Mechanical Engineering$104,229/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$100,173/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$98,687/yr
Chemical Engineering$96,798/yr
Civil Engineering$91,745/yr
Engineering, Other$88,159/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other$57,900/yr
English Language and Literature, General$56,097/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$61,262/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$55,776/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Public Health$66,110/yr
History
History$61,745/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Statistics$96,746/yr
Applied Mathematics$85,233/yr
Mathematics$79,015/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Mathematics and Computer Science$137,218/yr
International/Globalization Studies$81,174/yr
Cognitive Science$81,160/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$69,061/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$95,018/yr
Chemistry$77,249/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$63,130/yr
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$56,000/yr
Psychology, General$51,679/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$87,307/yr
Urban Studies/Affairs$71,380/yr
Political Science and Government$67,713/yr
Anthropology$56,982/yr
Sociology$55,534/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, Other$64,822/yr
Music$58,071/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$48,506/yr
Visual and Performing Arts, General$45,915/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$41,389/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity18,165
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of California-San Diego look for in applicants?

Per University of California-San Diego's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates application essay, rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of California-San Diego's acceptance rate?

University of California-San Diego in La Jolla, CA admits approximately 27% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of California-San Diego cost?

University of California-San Diego's total cost of attendance is reported at $38,701 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of California-San Diego require students to live on campus?

No -- University of California-San Diego doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of California-San Diego against another school?

Open the comparison view