College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of California-Santa Barbara

Public

Santa Barbara, CA

Visit website ↗

University of California-Santa Barbara, in Santa Barbara, CA, is a public very large school, enrolling around 23,113 students. University of California-Santa Barbara is selective, with an acceptance rate near 33%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $149,190/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate33%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads23,113
Yield (admits who enroll)17%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$41,5732024-25
In-state tuition & fees$17,6952026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$56,9652026-27
4-year grad rate84%
Median earnings, 10yr out$74,915

Out-of-state students pay $39,270 more per year in tuition and fees (3.2x the in-state rate).

Rate for students starting in 2026-27. The UC system holds each entering class's tuition steady for up to six years. The student health insurance fee, which can be waived, isn't included.

Tuition & fees are University of California-Santa Barbara's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against University of California-Santa Barbara's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of California-Santa Barbara weighs your application

From University of California-Santa Barbara's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordImportant
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayVery important
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of California-Santa Barbara actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed

What applicants who posted their results listed

95 self-reported applicant profiles from public posts, 2024–25 and 2025–26 admissions cycles: 73 admitted, 22 rejected or waitlisted. Figures read admitted vs. rejected or waitlisted.

Median unweighted GPA3.96 vs 3.71
Listed a national-level award52% vs 50%

No SAT/ACT comparison: University of California-Santa Barbara doesn't consider test scores, so none of these applicants' scores were in front of it.

Most common activities

AdmittedRejected or waitlisted
Community service
51%
55%
Tutoring & teaching
49%
41%
Research
47%
50%
Clubs & honor societies
41%
32%
Internship
37%
23%
Sports
36%
36%
Founded an organization
33%
27%
Science or academic competitions
26%
18%

Most common awards among admits

Competition placement · 56%AP Scholar · 41%School award · 33%National Merit · 26%

Who posted

Public high school · 70%Private or boarding school · 24%First-generation · 15%International · 12%

How this compares across big public universities: Big Public University Accepted vs. Rejected Applicants →

These are people who chose to post their results publicly, mostly on Reddit -- a group that skews toward high scores and STEM. They describe posters, not University of California-Santa Barbara's admitted class, and recruited athletes are left out. For official numbers, use the admissions figures above.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of California-Santa Barbara weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans18%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out75%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Area Studies$59,042/yr
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$59,004/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Pharmacology and Toxicology$98,462/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$90,694/yr
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$90,061/yr
Biology, General$64,520/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$53,727/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$50,694/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$96,078/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$72,976/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$149,190/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$144,703/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$117,215/yr
Chemical Engineering$113,317/yr
Mechanical Engineering$104,336/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$59,334/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$68,496/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$61,580/yr
History
History$59,342/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Applied Mathematics$109,360/yr
Statistics$90,778/yr
Mathematics$85,391/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
International/Globalization Studies$66,127/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$63,628/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$71,796/yr
Religion/Religious Studies$43,377/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$85,219/yr
Chemistry$74,713/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$66,788/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$66,171/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$98,178/yr
Political Science and Government$70,384/yr
Geography and Cartography$67,521/yr
Sociology$60,013/yr
Anthropology$56,238/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$49,893/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$46,428/yr
Dance$44,858/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$44,106/yr
Music$33,825/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity11,441
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of California-Santa Barbara look for in applicants?

Per University of California-Santa Barbara's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA, application essay as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of California-Santa Barbara's acceptance rate?

University of California-Santa Barbara in Santa Barbara, CA admits approximately 33% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of California-Santa Barbara cost?

University of California-Santa Barbara's total cost of attendance is reported at $41,573 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of California-Santa Barbara?

For 2026-27, University of California-Santa Barbara's tuition and required fees are $56,965 for out-of-state students and $17,695 for in-state students -- $39,270 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of California-Santa Barbara require students to live on campus?

No -- University of California-Santa Barbara doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of California-Santa Barbara against another school?

Open the comparison view