← Back to collegesLocated in San Diego, CA, San Diego State University is a public very large school with roughly 35,377 undergraduates. San Diego State University is moderately selective, with an acceptance rate near 36%. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $120,799/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.
Admissions
Admit rate36%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads35,377
Yield (admits who enroll)22%
Next deadlineSingle filing period
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$27,780
4-year grad rate77%
Median earnings, 10yr out$64,909
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
How San Diego State University weighs your application
From San Diego State University's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?
Academic factorsRigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factorsInterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceImportant
State residencyImportant
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
→BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how San Diego State University actually weighs your profile, free, no account neededSee full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what San Diego State University weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans23%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out66%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group StudiesEthnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$55,230/yr
Biological and Biomedical SciencesMicrobiological Sciences and Immunology$81,122/yr
Biology, General$68,861/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesFinance and Financial Management Services$88,136/yr
Marketing$81,368/yr
Accounting and Related Services$80,011/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$70,113/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,902/yr
International Business$69,141/yr
Real Estate$50,662/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsPublic Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$67,414/yr
Communication and Media Studies$61,389/yr
Journalism$53,997/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$43,485/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer Science$100,586/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$86,613/yr
EducationTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$48,471/yr
EngineeringComputer Engineering$116,842/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$106,416/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$100,139/yr
Mechanical Engineering$97,825/yr
Civil Engineering$95,865/yr
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$88,417/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related FieldsConstruction Engineering Technology/Technician$100,564/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$49,406/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsRomance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$49,167/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$42,922/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$120,799/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$73,095/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$66,649/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$61,510/yr
Public Health$60,904/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$53,621/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective ServicesCriminal Justice and Corrections$57,510/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$58,419/yr
Mathematics and StatisticsStatistics$83,076/yr
Applied Mathematics$69,606/yr
Mathematics$57,999/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary StudiesNutrition Sciences$55,115/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$55,072/yr
Natural Resources and ConservationNatural Resources Conservation and Research$58,215/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness StudiesSports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$59,914/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$57,093/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies Physical SciencesChemistry$74,676/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$73,647/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$51,021/yr
Public Administration and Social Service ProfessionsPublic Administration$57,264/yr
Social Work$56,674/yr
Social SciencesEconomics$74,123/yr
Political Science and Government$64,824/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$59,733/yr
Geography and Cartography$58,004/yr
Anthropology$53,991/yr
Sociology$53,387/yr
Social Sciences, General$52,095/yr
Visual and Performing ArtsDesign and Applied Arts$54,569/yr
Music$42,090/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$41,812/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$35,416/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity8,288
Typical room charge$13,528
Typical board charge$6,688
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What does San Diego State University look for in applicants?
Per San Diego State University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA, rigor of secondary school record as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.
What is San Diego State University's acceptance rate?
San Diego State University in San Diego, CA admits approximately 36% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
How much does San Diego State University cost?
San Diego State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,780 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does San Diego State University require students to live on campus?
No -- San Diego State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.