College Intel
← Back to colleges

California Institute of the Arts

Private

Valencia, CA

Visit website ↗

Located in Valencia, CA, California Institute of the Arts is a private very small school with roughly 860 undergraduates. California Institute of the Arts is selective, with an acceptance rate near 32%. Its highest-earning reported major is Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft (Visual and Performing Arts), where graduates report median earnings of $41,192/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate32%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads860
Yield (admits who enroll)36%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$77,560
4-year grad rate65%
Median earnings, 10yr out$41,198

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against California Institute of the Arts's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California Institute of the Arts weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans36%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out67%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Visual and Performing Arts
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$41,192/yr
Music$40,294/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$29,426/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$28,617/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity450
Typical room charge$7,180
Typical board charge$6,013

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is California Institute of the Arts's acceptance rate?

California Institute of the Arts in Valencia, CA admits approximately 32% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California Institute of the Arts cost?

California Institute of the Arts's total cost of attendance is reported at $77,560 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California Institute of the Arts require students to live on campus?

No -- California Institute of the Arts doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California Institute of the Arts against another school?

Open the comparison view