College Intel
← Back to colleges

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

Public

San Luis Obispo, CA

Visit website ↗

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, in San Luis Obispo, CA, is a public very large school, enrolling around 21,996 students. California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo is selective, with an acceptance rate near 31%. Among reported majors, Computer Science shows the strongest outcomes -- $154,784/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate31%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads21,996
Yield (admits who enroll)29%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$32,2652024-25
In-state tuition & fees$14,6822026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$37,6162026-27
4-year grad rate86%
Median earnings, 10yr out$90,768

Out-of-state students pay $22,934 more per year in tuition and fees (2.6x the in-state rate).

Rate for the science and math, business, and liberal arts colleges; engineering, architecture and agriculture cost about $1,000 more. Out-of-state students pay tuition by the unit plus a yearly Opportunity Fee.

Tuition & fees are California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's numbers?

Check your chances here

How California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo weighs your application

From California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed

What applicants who posted their results listed

36 self-reported applicant profiles from public posts, 2024–25 and 2025–26 admissions cycles: 25 admitted, 11 rejected or waitlisted. Figures read admitted vs. rejected or waitlisted.

Median unweighted GPA3.98 vs 3.81
Listed a national-level award60% vs 55%

No SAT/ACT comparison: California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo doesn't consider test scores, so none of these applicants' scores were in front of it.

Most common activities

AdmittedRejected or waitlisted
Community service
56%
64%
Tutoring & teaching
56%
45%
Sports
44%
45%
Research
40%
73%
Clubs & honor societies
40%
45%
Paid job
36%
64%
Internship
36%
36%
Science or academic competitions
32%
9%

Most common awards among admits

AP Scholar · 64%School award · 56%Competition placement · 48%National Merit · 28%

Who posted

Public high school · 72%Private or boarding school · 21%First-generation · 29%

How this compares across big public universities: Big Public University Accepted vs. Rejected Applicants →

These are people who chose to post their results publicly, mostly on Reddit -- a group that skews toward high scores and STEM. They describe posters, not California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's admitted class, and recruited athletes are left out. For official numbers, use the admissions figures above.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans25%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out87%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$88,396/yr
Agriculture, General$84,412/yr
Plant Sciences$82,487/yr
Agricultural Public Services$80,965/yr
Agricultural Mechanization$78,080/yr
Food Science and Technology$75,466/yr
Animal Sciences$54,805/yr
Architecture and Related Services
City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning$80,820/yr
Architecture$76,613/yr
Landscape Architecture$68,795/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$78,097/yr
Biology, General$69,854/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$118,331/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$110,902/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$75,223/yr
Journalism$70,829/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$79,432/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$154,784/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$55,543/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$148,950/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$125,240/yr
Industrial Engineering$112,797/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$109,232/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$107,498/yr
Mechanical Engineering$106,750/yr
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$102,702/yr
Civil Engineering$101,072/yr
Materials Engineering$100,599/yr
Architectural Engineering$92,767/yr
Agricultural Engineering$92,603/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$89,195/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$63,413/yr
History
History$66,518/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$68,171/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Statistics$101,353/yr
Mathematics$83,187/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Nutrition Sciences$68,930/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$77,419/yr
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy$68,965/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$75,181/yr
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$64,579/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$98,592/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$96,805/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$69,227/yr
Chemistry$63,882/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$60,466/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$98,927/yr
Political Science and Government$81,843/yr
Sociology$69,883/yr
Social Sciences, Other$57,360/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$59,721/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$36,697/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity8,702
Typical room charge$10,356
Typical board charge$6,770

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo look for in applicants?

Per California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's acceptance rate?

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo in San Luis Obispo, CA admits approximately 31% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo cost?

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's total cost of attendance is reported at $32,265 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo?

For 2026-27, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo's tuition and required fees are $37,616 for out-of-state students and $14,682 for in-state students -- $22,934 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo require students to live on campus?

No -- California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo against another school?

Open the comparison view