College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of California-Irvine

Public

Irvine, CA

Visit website ↗

University of California-Irvine is a public very large school in Irvine, CA, enrolling about 30,197 undergraduates. University of California-Irvine is selective, with an acceptance rate near 29%. Engineering graduates, especially in Computer Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $132,357/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate29%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads30,197
Yield (admits who enroll)22%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$38,6322024-25
In-state tuition & fees$16,8912026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$56,1612026-27
4-year grad rate86%
Median earnings, 10yr out$80,735

Out-of-state students pay $39,270 more per year in tuition and fees (3.3x the in-state rate).

Rate for students starting in 2026-27. The UC system holds each entering class's tuition steady for up to six years. The student health insurance fee, which can be waived, isn't included.

Tuition & fees are University of California-Irvine's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against University of California-Irvine's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of California-Irvine weighs your application

From University of California-Irvine's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayVery important
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesVery important
Talent/abilityVery important
Character/personal qualitiesImportant
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workVery important
Work experienceVery important
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of California-Irvine actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed

What applicants who posted their results listed

101 self-reported applicant profiles from public posts, 2024–25 and 2025–26 admissions cycles: 70 admitted, 31 rejected or waitlisted. Figures read admitted vs. rejected or waitlisted.

Median unweighted GPA3.96 vs 3.81
Listed a national-level award50% vs 45%

No SAT/ACT comparison: University of California-Irvine doesn't consider test scores, so none of these applicants' scores were in front of it.

Most common activities

AdmittedRejected or waitlisted
Research
49%
32%
Clubs & honor societies
46%
26%
Community service
41%
52%
Internship
37%
26%
Tutoring & teaching
36%
45%
Founded an organization
36%
23%
Sports
34%
32%
Music
30%
23%

Most common awards among admits

Competition placement · 49%AP Scholar · 36%School award · 27%National Merit · 20%

Who posted

Public high school · 72%Private or boarding school · 23%First-generation · 16%International · 11%

The full breakdown, with what stood out: UC Irvine Accepted vs. Rejected Applicants →

These are people who chose to post their results publicly, mostly on Reddit -- a group that skews toward high scores and STEM. They describe posters, not University of California-Irvine's admitted class, and recruited athletes are left out. For official numbers, use the admissions figures above.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of California-Irvine weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans20%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out78%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$47,471/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,273/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$108,038/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$80,755/yr
Business/Managerial Economics$77,807/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$57,492/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$127,404/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$96,347/yr
Computer Software and Media Applications$69,981/yr
Education
Education, General$54,356/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$132,357/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$106,871/yr
Materials Engineering$106,547/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$100,537/yr
Mechanical Engineering$99,111/yr
Chemical Engineering$97,656/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$96,874/yr
Civil Engineering$96,354/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$54,299/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$55,360/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$119,502/yr
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration$61,034/yr
Public Health$60,430/yr
History
History$53,481/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$77,472/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$60,242/yr
International/Globalization Studies$57,116/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$59,908/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$96,215/yr
Chemistry$74,810/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$70,820/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$56,380/yr
Research and Experimental Psychology$54,323/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$83,937/yr
Urban Studies/Affairs$63,819/yr
Political Science and Government$63,318/yr
Criminology$57,935/yr
Sociology$56,457/yr
Anthropology$50,850/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$51,423/yr
Music$43,120/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$40,773/yr
Dance$40,466/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$39,010/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity15,693
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of California-Irvine look for in applicants?

Per University of California-Irvine's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates application essay, volunteer work, extracurricular activities, talent/ability, rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA, work experience as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of California-Irvine's acceptance rate?

University of California-Irvine in Irvine, CA admits approximately 29% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of California-Irvine cost?

University of California-Irvine's total cost of attendance is reported at $38,632 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of California-Irvine?

For 2026-27, University of California-Irvine's tuition and required fees are $56,161 for out-of-state students and $16,891 for in-state students -- $39,270 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of California-Irvine require students to live on campus?

No -- University of California-Irvine doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of California-Irvine against another school?

Open the comparison view