College Intel
← Back to colleges

Texas A&M University-College Station

Public#68 National Universities

College Station, TX

Visit website ↗

Texas A&M University opened in 1876 as Texas's first public institution of higher learning. It is one of a small number of U.S. universities holding the combined designation of land-grant, sea-grant, and space-grant institution. The university is organized into 17 colleges and schools and maintains traditions such as the Corps of Cadets alongside programs like the Texas A&M Maritime Academy.

Admissions

Admit rate57%
SAT range1160–13902025-26 CDS
ACT range24–322025-26 CDS
Undergrads59,615
Yield (admits who enroll)46%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (RD)

Test scores for the Fall 2025 entering class come from Texas A&M University-College Station's own 2025-26 Common Data Set: 77% submitted SAT scores, 19% submitted ACT scores.

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Dec 1, 2026

Confirm on Texas A&M University-College Station's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$32,6962024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,5512026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$40,0362026-27
4-year grad rate84%
Median earnings, 10yr out$72,097

Out-of-state students pay $28,485 more per year in tuition and fees (3.5x the in-state rate).

Rate for an incoming freshman in a base-rate major; engineering, business and some other majors cost more. Tuition and fees are frozen through 2026-27.

Tuition & fees are Texas A&M University-College Station's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Texas A&M University-College Station takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against Texas A&M University-College Station's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Texas A&M University-College Station weighs your application

From Texas A&M University-College Station's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankVery important
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayImportant
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesVery important
Talent/abilityVery important
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationImportant
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceImportant
State residencyImportant
Religious affiliationNot considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Texas A&M University-College Station actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed

What admitted applicants who posted their results listed

22 admitted applicants who posted their profiles publicly, 2024–25 and 2025–26 admissions cycles. Too few rejected or waitlisted applicants have posted to compare, so every figure here describes admits only. It shows what admitted posters looked like, not what made the difference.

Median unweighted GPA3.94
Median SAT (where sent)1535
Median ACT (where sent)35
Listed a national-level award64%

Most common activities among admits

Research
68%
Community service
64%
Internship
59%
Founded an organization
45%
Debate, speech & Model UN
41%
Music
41%
Tutoring & teaching
41%
Clubs & honor societies
41%

Most common awards among admits

Competition placement · 73%National Merit · 32%Named scholarship · 32%School award · 27%

Who the admitted posters were

Public high school · 65%Private or boarding school · 18%

How this compares across big public universities: Big Public University Accepted vs. Rejected Applicants →

These are people who chose to post their results publicly, mostly on Reddit -- a group that skews toward high scores and STEM. They describe posters, not Texas A&M University-College Station's admitted class, and recruited athletes are left out. Expect these medians to run above the school's real admitted class. For official numbers, use the admissions figures above.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Texas A&M University-College Station weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans26%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out82%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$77,479/yr
Plant Sciences$66,513/yr
Agriculture, General$59,213/yr
Animal Sciences$57,324/yr
Applied Horticulture and Horticultural Business Services$54,128/yr
Agricultural Public Services$54,017/yr
Architecture and Related Services
Landscape Architecture$73,729/yr
City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning$70,592/yr
Architecture$64,643/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Genetics$61,751/yr
Biology, General$61,734/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$59,079/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$46,453/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$41,543/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$112,319/yr
Accounting and Related Services$103,662/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$94,724/yr
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations$93,141/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$82,213/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$76,593/yr
Marketing$76,035/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$54,251/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$64,533/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$61,478/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$129,401/yr
Computer Science$124,283/yr
Information Science/Studies$100,166/yr
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$85,477/yr
Computer Software and Media Applications$59,769/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$127,042/yr
Petroleum Engineering$114,686/yr
Chemical Engineering$111,073/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$103,789/yr
Nuclear Engineering$103,438/yr
Mechanical Engineering$97,903/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$97,227/yr
Industrial Engineering$95,918/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$93,305/yr
Ocean Engineering$92,553/yr
Civil Engineering$92,433/yr
Naval Architecture and Marine Engineering$91,759/yr
Agricultural Engineering$85,393/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$101,540/yr
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$99,943/yr
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$89,629/yr
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$88,126/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$56,703/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$58,156/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$66,241/yr
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$53,563/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$81,026/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$70,132/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$69,815/yr
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$66,865/yr
Public Health$66,732/yr
History
History$57,783/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Security Science and Technology$53,792/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$79,488/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Applied Mathematics$85,792/yr
Mathematics$59,590/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
International/Globalization Studies$63,504/yr
Nutrition Sciences$62,289/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$58,697/yr
Maritime Studies$57,878/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$63,468/yr
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$57,722/yr
Environmental/Natural Resources Management and Policy$54,665/yr
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management$47,918/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$62,888/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$53,374/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$54,822/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$92,826/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$74,594/yr
Chemistry$69,662/yr
Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology$54,593/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$58,396/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$81,562/yr
Political Science and Government$69,375/yr
Geography and Cartography$65,228/yr
Sociology$57,857/yr
Anthropology$52,227/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Marine Transportation$124,645/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$57,002/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity11,306
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Texas A&M University-College Station look for in applicants?

Per Texas A&M University-College Station's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, class rank, academic GPA, extracurricular activities, talent/ability as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Texas A&M University-College Station's acceptance rate?

Texas A&M University-College Station in College Station, TX admits approximately 57% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Texas A&M University-College Station?

Per Texas A&M University-College Station's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 1160–1390 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

What ACT score do I need for Texas A&M University-College Station?

Per Texas A&M University-College Station's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 24–32 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

How much does Texas A&M University-College Station cost?

Texas A&M University-College Station's total cost of attendance is reported at $32,696 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Texas A&M University-College Station offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Texas A&M University-College Station takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Texas A&M University-College Station?

For 2026-27, Texas A&M University-College Station's tuition and required fees are $40,036 for out-of-state students and $11,551 for in-state students -- $28,485 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Texas A&M University-College Station?

Texas A&M University-College Station's deadlines are Regular Decision Dec 1, 2026, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Texas A&M University-College Station require students to live on campus?

No -- Texas A&M University-College Station doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Texas A&M University-College Station against another school?

Open the comparison view