← Back to collegesLocated in Boise, ID, Boise State University is a public very large school with roughly 17,674 undergraduates. Boise State University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 87%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $112,120/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.
Admissions
Admit rate87%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads17,674
Yield (admits who enroll)22%
Next deadlineNot reported
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$28,224
4-year grad rate61%
Median earnings, 10yr out$51,658
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Boise State University weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans24%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out54%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Biological and Biomedical SciencesBiology, General$49,570/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesConstruction Management$95,250/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$70,449/yr
Accounting and Related Services$69,257/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$66,283/yr
Marketing$65,040/yr
Business/Commerce, General$64,202/yr
International Business$62,964/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsCommunication and Media Studies$53,278/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer Science$112,120/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$77,439/yr
EducationTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,505/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,419/yr
EngineeringElectrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$100,680/yr
Mechanical Engineering$85,354/yr
Civil Engineering$81,405/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$39,059/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsRomance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$44,684/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,491/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$89,863/yr
Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other$60,164/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective ServicesCriminal Justice and Corrections$50,297/yr
Mathematics and StatisticsApplied Mathematics$75,336/yr
Mathematics$48,582/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary StudiesMulti/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$65,089/yr
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$51,708/yr
Natural Resources and ConservationNatural Resources Conservation and Research$50,697/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness StudiesSports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$58,562/yr
Physical SciencesChemistry$78,901/yr
Physics$64,459/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$53,995/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$51,184/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions Social SciencesEconomics$71,817/yr
Political Science and Government$55,478/yr
Social Sciences, General$49,683/yr
Sociology$44,676/yr
Anthropology$36,830/yr
Visual and Performing ArtsDesign and Applied Arts$42,527/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,158
Typical room charge$6,910
Typical board charge$5,030
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What is Boise State University's acceptance rate?
Boise State University in Boise, ID admits approximately 87% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
How much does Boise State University cost?
Boise State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,224 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does Boise State University require students to live on campus?
No -- Boise State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.