College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Idaho

Public

Moscow, ID

Visit website ↗

University of Idaho, in Moscow, ID, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 7,747 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 76% of applicants. Among reported majors, Computer Science shows the strongest outcomes -- $103,530/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate76%
SAT range990–1230
ACT range20–26
Undergrads7,747
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,738
4-year grad rate59%
Median earnings, 10yr out$54,670

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Idaho's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Idaho weighs your application

From University of Idaho's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordNot considered
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresVery important
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Idaho actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Idaho weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans38%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out62%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$80,690/yr
Plant Sciences$47,392/yr
Agricultural Public Services$45,263/yr
Animal Sciences$40,935/yr
Architecture and Related Services
Architecture$62,557/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$55,147/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$47,372/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$81,967/yr
Business/Managerial Economics$78,254/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$71,929/yr
Accounting and Related Services$67,887/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$63,639/yr
Marketing$59,776/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$52,438/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$56,032/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$49,929/yr
Journalism$45,288/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$49,188/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$103,530/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$54,732/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$50,237/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$94,484/yr
Mechanical Engineering$86,415/yr
Civil Engineering$86,310/yr
Chemical Engineering$80,558/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$38,409/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$60,241/yr
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$46,758/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$47,825/yr
History
History$50,628/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$47,654/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity Studies$42,526/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$64,392/yr
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$62,791/yr
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$43,171/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$49,651/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$42,825/yr
Social Sciences
Sociology$51,873/yr
Political Science and Government$50,593/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$48,662/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$45,624/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$35,407/yr
Music$29,227/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,288
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of Idaho look for in applicants?

Per University of Idaho's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA, standardized test scores as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of Idaho's acceptance rate?

University of Idaho in Moscow, ID admits approximately 76% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Idaho?

Admitted students at University of Idaho typically score between 990–1230 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Idaho?

Admitted students at University of Idaho typically score between 20–26 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Idaho cost?

University of Idaho's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,738 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Idaho require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Idaho doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Idaho against another school?

Open the comparison view