College Intel
← Back to colleges

Idaho State University

Public

Pocatello, ID

Visit website ↗

Idaho State University, in Pocatello, ID, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 7,583 students. Its highest-earning reported major is Mechanical Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $90,053/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 23% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads7,583
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,5272024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,6102024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$27,7202024-25
4-year grad rate39%
Median earnings, 10yr out$45,608

Out-of-state students pay $19,110 more per year in tuition and fees (3.2x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Idaho State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Idaho State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Idaho State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans23%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out48%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$52,171/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Human Resources Management and Services$89,887/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$73,295/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$69,630/yr
Accounting and Related Services$65,662/yr
Marketing$64,480/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$47,655/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$88,888/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$46,205/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,189/yr
Engineering
Mechanical Engineering$90,053/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$40,602/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$42,232/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$73,953/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$71,038/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$65,955/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$62,783/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$56,720/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$48,828/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$46,238/yr
History
History$42,814/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$43,444/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,073/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$51,827/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$50,233/yr
Anthropology$38,342/yr
Sociology$32,182/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,206
Typical room charge$3,038
Typical board charge$4,588

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Idaho State University cost?

Idaho State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,527 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Idaho State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Idaho State University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Idaho State University?

For 2024-25, Idaho State University's published tuition and required fees were $27,720 for out-of-state students and $8,610 for in-state students -- $19,110 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Idaho State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Idaho State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Idaho State University against another school?

Open the comparison view