College Intel
← Back to colleges

Wright State University-Main Campus

Public

Dayton, OH

Visit website ↗

Wright State University-Main Campus, in Dayton, OH, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 6,762 students. Wright State University-Main Campus is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 96%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $97,659/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate96%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads6,762
Yield (admits who enroll)19%
Next deadlineAug 16, 2027 (RD)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Aug 16, 2027Priority application is Dec 1, 2026 and regular application is Feb 1, 2027. Aug 16 is the final rolling cutoff.

Confirm on Wright State University-Main Campus's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,3732024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,5222024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$21,2222024-25
4-year grad rate44%
Median earnings, 10yr out$49,500

Out-of-state students pay $9,700 more per year in tuition and fees (1.8x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against Wright State University-Main Campus's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Wright State University-Main Campus weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans42%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out53%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$62,925/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$85,393/yr
Accounting and Related Services$73,024/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$71,696/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$65,293/yr
Marketing$64,589/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$60,039/yr
Business/Commerce, General$58,039/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$40,908/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$92,006/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$48,724/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,970/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$97,659/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$89,391/yr
Mechanical Engineering$82,795/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$77,864/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$41,987/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$48,582/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$77,289/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$56,074/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$47,355/yr
History
History$44,397/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$59,848/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
International/Globalization Studies$56,668/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$42,817/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,433/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$55,165/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$50,824/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,507/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$47,235/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$56,423/yr
Criminology$46,939/yr
Sociology$44,227/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$43,884/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$35,148/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$34,704/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$34,673/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,518
Typical room charge$5,332
Typical board charge$4,896

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Wright State University-Main Campus's acceptance rate?

Wright State University-Main Campus in Dayton, OH admits approximately 96% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Wright State University-Main Campus cost?

Wright State University-Main Campus's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,373 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at Wright State University-Main Campus?

For 2024-25, Wright State University-Main Campus's published tuition and required fees were $21,222 for out-of-state students and $11,522 for in-state students -- $9,700 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Wright State University-Main Campus?

Wright State University-Main Campus's deadlines are Regular Decision Aug 16, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Wright State University-Main Campus require students to live on campus?

No -- Wright State University-Main Campus doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Wright State University-Main Campus against another school?

Open the comparison view