College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Wyoming

Public

Laramie, WY

Visit website ↗

Located in Laramie, WY, University of Wyoming is a public mid-sized school with roughly 7,944 undergraduates. University of Wyoming is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 97%. Engineering graduates, especially in Petroleum Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $100,911/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate97%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads7,944
Yield (admits who enroll)29%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,8182024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,5322026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$25,3922026-27
4-year grad rate59%
Median earnings, 10yr out$56,880

Out-of-state students pay $16,860 more per year in tuition and fees (3.0x the in-state rate).

Tuition & fees are University of Wyoming's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of Wyoming takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against University of Wyoming's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Wyoming weighs your application

From University of Wyoming's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayConsidered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Wyoming actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Wyoming weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans28%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out75%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Agricultural Business and Management$64,200/yr
Plant Sciences$52,652/yr
Animal Sciences$49,092/yr
Agricultural Public Services$41,533/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$58,593/yr
Biology, General$58,479/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$44,424/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$80,827/yr
Accounting and Related Services$69,378/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$66,744/yr
Marketing$58,703/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,125/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$54,433/yr
Journalism$38,934/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$99,287/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$55,338/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,967/yr
Engineering
Petroleum Engineering$100,911/yr
Mechanical Engineering$87,533/yr
Civil Engineering$83,184/yr
Architectural Engineering$82,143/yr
Chemical Engineering$81,629/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$45,673/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$47,250/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$61,364/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$83,525/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$67,927/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$61,267/yr
History
History$53,868/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$57,016/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$55,794/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
International/Globalization Studies$39,168/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$51,552/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$57,949/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$69,992/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$68,883/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$52,732/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$44,701/yr
Social Sciences
Geography and Cartography$55,889/yr
Political Science and Government$52,096/yr
Sociology$48,508/yr
Social Sciences, General$43,404/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$46,371/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$35,028/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,874
Typical room charge$4,990
Typical board charge$6,620

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of Wyoming look for in applicants?

Per University of Wyoming's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of Wyoming's acceptance rate?

University of Wyoming in Laramie, WY admits approximately 97% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of Wyoming cost?

University of Wyoming's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,818 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Wyoming offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of Wyoming takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Wyoming?

For 2026-27, University of Wyoming's tuition and required fees are $25,392 for out-of-state students and $8,532 for in-state students -- $16,860 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of Wyoming require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Wyoming doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Wyoming against another school?

Open the comparison view