College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Colorado Colorado Springs

Public

Colorado Springs, CO

Visit website ↗

University of Colorado Colorado Springs is a public large school in Colorado Springs, CO, enrolling about 8,697 undergraduates. University of Colorado Colorado Springs is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 97%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $121,678/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate97%
SAT range1010–1220
ACT range20–26
Undergrads8,697
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,5952024-25
In-state tuition & fees$10,1492024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$24,3362024-25
4-year grad rate46%
Median earnings, 10yr out$54,659

Out-of-state students pay $14,187 more per year in tuition and fees (2.4x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of Colorado Colorado Springs takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against University of Colorado Colorado Springs's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Colorado Colorado Springs weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans34%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out63%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$54,639/yr
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$53,284/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$66,553/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$50,692/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$97,001/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$46,244/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$121,678/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$113,627/yr
Mechanical Engineering$91,192/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$42,627/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$78,904/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$60,605/yr
History
History$43,949/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,198/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$69,992/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$49,909/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,725/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$75,209/yr
Political Science and Government$63,538/yr
Geography and Cartography$48,892/yr
Sociology$46,444/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$37,628/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,719
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Colorado Colorado Springs's acceptance rate?

University of Colorado Colorado Springs in Colorado Springs, CO admits approximately 97% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Colorado Colorado Springs?

Admitted students at University of Colorado Colorado Springs typically score between 1010–1220 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Colorado Colorado Springs?

Admitted students at University of Colorado Colorado Springs typically score between 20–26 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Colorado Colorado Springs cost?

University of Colorado Colorado Springs's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,595 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Colorado Colorado Springs offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of Colorado Colorado Springs takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Colorado Colorado Springs?

For 2024-25, University of Colorado Colorado Springs's published tuition and required fees were $24,336 for out-of-state students and $10,149 for in-state students -- $14,187 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of Colorado Colorado Springs require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Colorado Colorado Springs doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Colorado Colorado Springs against another school?

Open the comparison view