College Intel
← Back to colleges

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Public

Denver, CO

Visit website ↗

Metropolitan State University of Denver, in Denver, CO, is a public very large school, enrolling around 15,002 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 99% of applicants. Among reported majors, Computer Science shows the strongest outcomes -- $111,187/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate99%
SAT range880–1130
ACT range17–26
Undergrads15,002
Yield (admits who enroll)19%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,6222024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,1242024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$30,6842024-25
4-year grad rate31%
Median earnings, 10yr out$52,093

Out-of-state students pay $19,560 more per year in tuition and fees (2.8x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Metropolitan State University of Denver takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Metropolitan State University of Denver's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Metropolitan State University of Denver weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans28%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out48%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$52,747/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$57,920/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$57,065/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$91,399/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$77,596/yr
Accounting and Related Services$73,698/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$65,387/yr
Marketing$64,069/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$57,312/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$50,478/yr
Journalism$47,460/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$111,187/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$51,786/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$49,025/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,666/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$100,358/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$98,267/yr
Civil Engineering Technologies/Technicians$86,131/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$58,918/yr
English Language and Literature, General$51,955/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$50,926/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$86,259/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$62,250/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$52,735/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$46,535/yr
Alternative and Complementary Medicine and Medical Systems$45,766/yr
History
History$48,518/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$56,564/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$65,179/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Nutrition Sciences$60,395/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$59,502/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$63,175/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$57,810/yr
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$57,096/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$76,759/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$50,326/yr
Research and Experimental Psychology$48,655/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$55,915/yr
Human Services, General$54,896/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$80,907/yr
Geography and Cartography$66,429/yr
Political Science and Government$60,639/yr
Anthropology$53,125/yr
Sociology$52,414/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$72,846/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$61,654/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$42,870/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$42,490/yr
Music$38,957/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Metropolitan State University of Denver's acceptance rate?

Metropolitan State University of Denver in Denver, CO admits approximately 99% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Metropolitan State University of Denver?

Admitted students at Metropolitan State University of Denver typically score between 880–1130 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Metropolitan State University of Denver?

Admitted students at Metropolitan State University of Denver typically score between 17–26 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Metropolitan State University of Denver cost?

Metropolitan State University of Denver's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,622 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Metropolitan State University of Denver offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Metropolitan State University of Denver takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Metropolitan State University of Denver?

For 2024-25, Metropolitan State University of Denver's published tuition and required fees were $30,684 for out-of-state students and $11,124 for in-state students -- $19,560 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Metropolitan State University of Denver require students to live on campus?

No -- Metropolitan State University of Denver doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Metropolitan State University of Denver against another school?

Open the comparison view