College Intel
← Back to colleges

Adams State University

Public

Alamosa, CO

Visit website ↗

Adams State University is a public small school in Alamosa, CO, enrolling about 1,250 undergraduates. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $78,402/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus. About 33% of students borrow federal loans here.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,250
Yield (admits who enroll)19%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,3522024-25
In-state tuition & fees$9,8242024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$21,9442024-25
4-year grad rate36%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,372

Out-of-state students pay $12,120 more per year in tuition and fees (2.2x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Adams State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Adams State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Adams State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans33%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out46%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$56,467/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$51,111/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$78,402/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$41,809/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$44,701/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,034
Typical room charge$4,020
Typical board charge$5,200

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Adams State University cost?

Adams State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,352 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Adams State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Adams State University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Adams State University?

For 2024-25, Adams State University's published tuition and required fees were $21,944 for out-of-state students and $9,824 for in-state students -- $12,120 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Adams State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Adams State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Adams State University against another school?

Open the comparison view