College Intel
← Back to colleges

California State University-East Bay

Public

Hayward, CA

Visit website ↗

California State University-East Bay, in Hayward, CA, is a public large school, enrolling around 9,809 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 97% of applicants get in. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $150,921/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate97%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads9,809
Yield (admits who enroll)7%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$22,8502024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,5832024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$20,1832024-25
4-year grad rate47%
Median earnings, 10yr out$71,401

Out-of-state students pay $12,600 more per year in tuition and fees (2.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

California State University-East Bay takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against California State University-East Bay's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California State University-East Bay weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans26%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out62%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$57,145/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$77,863/yr
Biology, General$74,010/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$119,067/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$77,567/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$65,655/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$57,708/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$119,900/yr
Engineering
Industrial Engineering$93,793/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$53,147/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$57,898/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$150,921/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$68,231/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$62,720/yr
History
History$65,217/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$64,835/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$57,755/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$59,333/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$68,227/yr
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$56,938/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$54,436/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$71,022/yr
Economics$67,155/yr
Sociology$62,427/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$58,885/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$46,136/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,482
Typical room charge$9,937
Typical board charge$5,790

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is California State University-East Bay's acceptance rate?

California State University-East Bay in Hayward, CA admits approximately 97% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California State University-East Bay cost?

California State University-East Bay's total cost of attendance is reported at $22,850 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California State University-East Bay offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- California State University-East Bay takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at California State University-East Bay?

For 2024-25, California State University-East Bay's published tuition and required fees were $20,183 for out-of-state students and $7,583 for in-state students -- $12,600 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does California State University-East Bay require students to live on campus?

No -- California State University-East Bay doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California State University-East Bay against another school?

Open the comparison view