College Intel
← Back to colleges

California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt

Public

Arcata, CA

Visit website ↗

California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt is a public mid-sized school in Arcata, CA, enrolling about 5,612 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 98% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Forestry (Natural Resources and Conservation), where graduates report median earnings of $79,849/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate98%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads5,612
Yield (admits who enroll)12%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,170
4-year grad rate48%
Median earnings, 10yr out$47,626

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans34%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out58%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$43,064/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$55,707/yr
Botany/Plant Biology$42,743/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$38,495/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$60,005/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$39,178/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$74,620/yr
Engineering
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$78,225/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$43,310/yr
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$41,105/yr
History
History$42,119/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$42,049/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$49,706/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Forestry$79,849/yr
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$50,915/yr
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management$50,525/yr
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$47,003/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$55,222/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$40,566/yr
Physical Sciences
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$53,371/yr
Chemistry$50,579/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$45,889/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$57,953/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$61,175/yr
Criminology$55,174/yr
Sociology$48,143/yr
Political Science and Government$41,994/yr
Anthropology$41,464/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$46,245/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$34,812/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,196
Typical room charge$6,638
Typical board charge$5,600

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt's acceptance rate?

California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt in Arcata, CA admits approximately 98% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt cost?

California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,170 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt require students to live on campus?

No -- California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt against another school?

Open the comparison view