College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Wisconsin-Stout

Public

Menomonie, WI

Visit website ↗

University of Wisconsin-Stout is a public mid-sized school in Menomonie, WI, enrolling about 5,842 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 88% of applicants get in. Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services graduates, especially in Construction Management, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $101,758/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate88%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range20–27
Undergrads5,842
Yield (admits who enroll)23%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$22,797
4-year grad rate54%
Median earnings, 10yr out$58,084

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Wisconsin-Stout's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Wisconsin-Stout weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans48%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out75%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Construction Management$101,758/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$68,697/yr
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations$66,306/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$59,703/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$56,451/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$59,621/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$82,853/yr
Computer Systems Networking and Telecommunications$77,269/yr
Computer Software and Media Applications$74,146/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$56,563/yr
Special Education and Teaching$48,444/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,256/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$94,440/yr
Polymer/Plastics Engineering$88,102/yr
Mechanical Engineering$87,645/yr
Manufacturing Engineering$87,431/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Engineering-Related Fields$86,490/yr
Engineering Technologies/Technicians, General$76,784/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$53,436/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Apparel and Textiles$59,192/yr
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$48,043/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$59,392/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$51,545/yr
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$49,703/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Applied Mathematics$92,803/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$50,042/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$52,366/yr
Science Technologies/Technicians
Science Technologies/Technicians, Other$74,697/yr
Social Sciences
Criminology$57,529/yr
Social Sciences, General$47,074/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$57,718/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$49,967/yr
Visual and Performing Arts, General$41,129/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,946
Typical room charge$4,830
Typical board charge$3,218

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Wisconsin-Stout's acceptance rate?

University of Wisconsin-Stout in Menomonie, WI admits approximately 88% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for University of Wisconsin-Stout?

Admitted students at University of Wisconsin-Stout typically score between 20–27 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Wisconsin-Stout cost?

University of Wisconsin-Stout's total cost of attendance is reported at $22,797 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Wisconsin-Stout require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Wisconsin-Stout doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Wisconsin-Stout against another school?

Open the comparison view