College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of California-Riverside

Public

Riverside, CA

Visit website ↗

University of California-Riverside, in Riverside, CA, is a public very large school, enrolling around 22,593 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 76% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $117,705/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate76%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads22,593
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$38,9422024-25
In-state tuition & fees$16,7902026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$56,0602026-27
4-year grad rate76%
Median earnings, 10yr out$67,699

Out-of-state students pay $39,270 more per year in tuition and fees (3.3x the in-state rate).

Rate for students starting in 2026-27. The UC system holds each entering class's tuition steady for up to six years. The student health insurance fee, which can be waived, isn't included.

Tuition & fees are University of California-Riverside's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against University of California-Riverside's numbers?

Check your chances here

What admitted applicants who posted their results listed

41 admitted applicants who posted their profiles publicly, 2024–25 and 2025–26 admissions cycles. Too few rejected or waitlisted applicants have posted to compare, so every figure here describes admits only. It shows what admitted posters looked like, not what made the difference.

Median unweighted GPA3.92
Listed a national-level award63%

No SAT/ACT figures: University of California-Riverside doesn't consider test scores, so none of these applicants' scores were in front of it.

Most common activities among admits

Community service
66%
Research
56%
Founded an organization
44%
Tutoring & teaching
41%
Music
39%
Internship
39%
Clubs & honor societies
37%
Sports
32%

Most common awards among admits

Competition placement · 59%AP Scholar · 49%Service or leadership award · 34%School award · 27%

Who the admitted posters were

Public high school · 74%Private or boarding school · 21%First-generation · 29%

How this compares across big public universities: Big Public University Accepted vs. Rejected Applicants →

These are people who chose to post their results publicly, mostly on Reddit -- a group that skews toward high scores and STEM. They describe posters, not University of California-Riverside's admitted class, and recruited athletes are left out. Expect these medians to run above the school's real admitted class. For official numbers, use the admissions figures above.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of California-Riverside weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans31%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out67%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$56,555/yr
Area Studies$39,039/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$72,295/yr
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$65,813/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$59,549/yr
Biology, General$58,339/yr
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$51,865/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$72,027/yr
Business/Managerial Economics$64,147/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$117,705/yr
Education
Social and Philosophical Foundations of Education$57,847/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$107,193/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$102,630/yr
Mechanical Engineering$93,721/yr
Chemical Engineering$91,457/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$90,041/yr
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$84,300/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$50,712/yr
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$35,583/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$46,306/yr
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$42,692/yr
History
History$51,913/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$62,211/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Statistics$78,492/yr
Mathematics$63,596/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Sustainability Studies$58,463/yr
International/Globalization Studies$57,959/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$54,090/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$64,944/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$51,402/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$74,410/yr
Chemistry$64,131/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$59,677/yr
Psychology
Research and Experimental Psychology$49,947/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Policy Analysis$58,504/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$66,682/yr
Political Science and Government$56,740/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$56,108/yr
Sociology$55,682/yr
Social Sciences, Other$55,087/yr
Anthropology$45,821/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$52,699/yr
Dance$45,804/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$40,774/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity8,600
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of California-Riverside's acceptance rate?

University of California-Riverside in Riverside, CA admits approximately 76% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of California-Riverside cost?

University of California-Riverside's total cost of attendance is reported at $38,942 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of California-Riverside?

For 2026-27, University of California-Riverside's tuition and required fees are $56,060 for out-of-state students and $16,790 for in-state students -- $39,270 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of California-Riverside require students to live on campus?

No -- University of California-Riverside doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of California-Riverside against another school?

Open the comparison view