College Intel
← Back to colleges

Biola University

Private

La Mirada, CA

Visit website ↗

Biola University is a private mid-sized school in La Mirada, CA, enrolling about 3,474 undergraduates. Biola University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 74%. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $111,200/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate74%
SAT range1160–1370
ACT range24–29
Undergrads3,474
Yield (admits who enroll)30%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$62,757
4-year grad rate68%
Median earnings, 10yr out$56,778

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Biola University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Biola University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans44%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out74%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$60,014/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$91,330/yr
Business/Commerce, General$69,873/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$62,319/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$60,082/yr
Journalism$59,925/yr
Communication and Media Studies$53,781/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$78,943/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,566/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$43,154/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$111,200/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$69,087/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Intercultural/Multicultural and Diversity Studies$41,492/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,450/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$65,558/yr
Sociology$47,052/yr
Theology and Religious Vocations
Bible/Biblical Studies$58,569/yr
Religious Education$40,261/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Music$50,781/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$47,596/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,750
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Biola University's acceptance rate?

Biola University in La Mirada, CA admits approximately 74% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Biola University?

Admitted students at Biola University typically score between 1160–1370 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Biola University?

Admitted students at Biola University typically score between 24–29 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Biola University cost?

Biola University's total cost of attendance is reported at $62,757 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Biola University require students to live on campus?

No -- Biola University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Biola University against another school?

Open the comparison view