College Intel
← Back to colleges

California State Polytechnic University-Pomona

Public

Pomona, CA

Visit website ↗

Located in Pomona, CA, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona is a public very large school with roughly 25,042 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 75% of applicants. Among reported majors, Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering shows the strongest outcomes -- $106,171/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate75%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads25,042
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$23,9552024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,7802024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$20,3802024-25
4-year grad rate68%
Median earnings, 10yr out$71,902

Out-of-state students pay $12,600 more per year in tuition and fees (2.6x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

California State Polytechnic University-Pomona takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against California State Polytechnic University-Pomona's numbers?

Check your chances here

How California State Polytechnic University-Pomona weighs your application

From California State Polytechnic University-Pomona's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how California State Polytechnic University-Pomona actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what California State Polytechnic University-Pomona weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans25%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out73%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Food Science and Technology$75,601/yr
Plant Sciences$66,714/yr
Animal Sciences$53,017/yr
Agricultural Business and Management$48,033/yr
Architecture and Related Services
Architecture$76,969/yr
City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning$72,704/yr
Landscape Architecture$69,790/yr
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$43,082/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biotechnology$73,152/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$63,525/yr
Biology, General$61,688/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,954/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$57,114/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$56,278/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$103,494/yr
Education
Education, Other$42,160/yr
Engineering
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$106,171/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$103,924/yr
Chemical Engineering$102,849/yr
Computer Engineering$100,673/yr
Mechanical Engineering$99,148/yr
Civil Engineering$97,790/yr
Industrial Engineering$95,835/yr
Manufacturing Engineering$93,042/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Construction Engineering Technology/Technician$105,812/yr
Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians$91,709/yr
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$91,230/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$47,721/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Apparel and Textiles$52,952/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$68,077/yr
History
History$51,217/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$51,492/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$63,059/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Nutrition Sciences$54,605/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$53,024/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$87,856/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$73,305/yr
Chemistry$70,741/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,747/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$61,712/yr
Economics$61,084/yr
Geography and Cartography$57,424/yr
Sociology$52,694/yr
Anthropology$37,443/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$55,744/yr
Music$44,910/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity4,177
Typical room charge$10,980
Typical board charge$5,702

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does California State Polytechnic University-Pomona look for in applicants?

Per California State Polytechnic University-Pomona's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is California State Polytechnic University-Pomona's acceptance rate?

California State Polytechnic University-Pomona in Pomona, CA admits approximately 75% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does California State Polytechnic University-Pomona cost?

California State Polytechnic University-Pomona's total cost of attendance is reported at $23,955 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does California State Polytechnic University-Pomona offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- California State Polytechnic University-Pomona takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at California State Polytechnic University-Pomona?

For 2024-25, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona's published tuition and required fees were $20,380 for out-of-state students and $7,780 for in-state students -- $12,600 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does California State Polytechnic University-Pomona require students to live on campus?

No -- California State Polytechnic University-Pomona doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing California State Polytechnic University-Pomona against another school?

Open the comparison view