College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Alabama in Huntsville

Public

Huntsville, AL

Visit website ↗

University of Alabama in Huntsville is a public mid-sized school in Huntsville, AL, enrolling about 6,591 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 69% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $105,920/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate69%
SAT range1200–13702025-26 CDS
ACT range23–312025-26 CDS
Undergrads6,591
Yield (admits who enroll)27%
Next deadlineJul 30, 2027 (RD)

Test scores for the Fall 2025 entering class come from University of Alabama in Huntsville's own 2025-26 Common Data Set: 8% submitted SAT scores, 80% submitted ACT scores.

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Jul 30, 2027

Confirm on University of Alabama in Huntsville's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,3922024-25
In-state tuition & fees$12,1322024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$26,4082024-25
4-year grad rate63%
Median earnings, 10yr out$61,767

Out-of-state students pay $14,276 more per year in tuition and fees (2.2x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of Alabama in Huntsville takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Academic Common Market

Residents of Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia can pay in-state tuition for a specific major that no public college in their home state offers. You need admission to that major and approval from your home state's coordinator.

Where do you stand against University of Alabama in Huntsville's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Alabama in Huntsville weighs your application

From University of Alabama in Huntsville's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordNot considered
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAConsidered
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Alabama in Huntsville actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Alabama in Huntsville weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans33%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$45,992/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$89,472/yr
Management Information Systems and Services$78,319/yr
Accounting and Related Services$71,245/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,872/yr
Marketing$58,015/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$95,076/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$42,922/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$105,920/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$100,296/yr
Mechanical Engineering$95,341/yr
Industrial Engineering$95,153/yr
Engineering, General$91,645/yr
Chemical Engineering$90,681/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$87,339/yr
Civil Engineering$78,858/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$75,430/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$49,270/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$43,321/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,148
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Alabama in Huntsville's acceptance rate?

University of Alabama in Huntsville in Huntsville, AL admits approximately 69% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Alabama in Huntsville?

Per University of Alabama in Huntsville's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 1200–1370 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

What ACT score do I need for University of Alabama in Huntsville?

Per University of Alabama in Huntsville's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 23–31 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

How much does University of Alabama in Huntsville cost?

University of Alabama in Huntsville's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,392 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Alabama in Huntsville offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of Alabama in Huntsville takes part in the Academic Common Market, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Alabama in Huntsville?

For 2024-25, University of Alabama in Huntsville's published tuition and required fees were $26,408 for out-of-state students and $12,132 for in-state students -- $14,276 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for University of Alabama in Huntsville?

University of Alabama in Huntsville's deadlines are Regular Decision Jul 30, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does University of Alabama in Huntsville require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Alabama in Huntsville doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Alabama in Huntsville against another school?

Open the comparison view