← Back to collegesNorthern Illinois University, in Dekalb, IL, is a public large school, enrolling around 11,301 students. Northern Illinois University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 70%. Engineering graduates, especially in Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $93,962/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.
Admissions
Admit rate70%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads11,301
Yield (admits who enroll)13%
Next deadlineNot reported
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$28,851
4-year grad rate49%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,808
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Northern Illinois University weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans47%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out60%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Biological and Biomedical SciencesBiology, General$52,086/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesFinance and Financial Management Services$86,511/yr
Accounting and Related Services$83,573/yr
Marketing$76,373/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$73,176/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$71,040/yr
Hospitality Administration/Management$58,546/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsCommunication and Media Studies$55,109/yr
Journalism$50,658/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer Science$93,438/yr
EducationTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$53,672/yr
Special Education and Teaching$53,148/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$50,385/yr
EngineeringElectrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$93,962/yr
Mechanical Engineering$86,999/yr
Industrial Engineering$82,584/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related FieldsEngineering Technologies/Technicians, General$81,554/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$47,981/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human SciencesApparel and Textiles$68,636/yr
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$49,147/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsRomance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$51,151/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsClinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$76,856/yr
Health/Medical Preparatory Programs$55,778/yr
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$55,586/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$55,221/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$49,653/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$57,697/yr
Mathematics and Statistics Natural Resources and ConservationNatural Resources Conservation and Research$54,666/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness StudiesSports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$54,207/yr
Physical SciencesChemistry$65,611/yr
Atmospheric Sciences and Meteorology$49,198/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$49,669/yr
Public Administration and Social Service ProfessionsHuman Services, General$49,514/yr
Social SciencesEconomics$66,760/yr
Sociology$58,023/yr
Anthropology$54,890/yr
Political Science and Government$54,039/yr
Geography and Cartography$47,738/yr
Visual and Performing ArtsFine and Studio Arts$44,202/yr
Music$40,398/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$36,777/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity4,500
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What is Northern Illinois University's acceptance rate?
Northern Illinois University in Dekalb, IL admits approximately 70% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
How much does Northern Illinois University cost?
Northern Illinois University's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,851 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does Northern Illinois University require students to live on campus?
No -- Northern Illinois University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.