← Back to collegesWestern Illinois University is a public mid-sized school in Macomb, IL, enrolling about 4,410 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 71% of applicants get in. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer and Information Sciences, General, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $92,824/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.
Admissions
Admit rate71%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,410
Yield (admits who enroll)16%
Next deadlineRolling admission
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$28,254
4-year grad rate45%
Median earnings, 10yr out$54,163
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Western Illinois University weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans32%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out59%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related SciencesAgriculture, General$58,333/yr
Biological and Biomedical SciencesBiology, General$50,855/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesConstruction Management$85,974/yr
Accounting and Related Services$71,059/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$70,157/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,021/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$69,716/yr
Marketing$68,306/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsCommunication and Media Studies$51,203/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$46,966/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support ServicesGraphic Communications$50,751/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer and Information Sciences, General$92,824/yr
EducationTeacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$51,255/yr
Special Education and Teaching$45,395/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,279/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related FieldsEngineering Technologies/Technicians, General$75,922/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$41,984/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human SciencesFamily and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$54,059/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsLinguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$53,453/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$86,694/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$56,771/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$54,394/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$49,431/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective ServicesFire Protection$68,753/yr
Criminal Justice and Corrections$63,125/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services, Other$48,039/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$55,944/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness StudiesSports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$53,576/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Facilities Management$46,363/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$44,683/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions Social SciencesPolitical Science and Government$50,963/yr
Sociology$50,080/yr
Visual and Performing ArtsMusic$39,609/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$35,703/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,083
Typical room charge$6,428
Typical board charge$4,072
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What is Western Illinois University's acceptance rate?
Western Illinois University in Macomb, IL admits approximately 71% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
How much does Western Illinois University cost?
Western Illinois University's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,254 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does Western Illinois University require students to live on campus?
No -- Western Illinois University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.