College Intel
← Back to colleges

Mayville State University

Public

Mayville, ND

Visit website ↗

Mayville State University is a public very small school in Mayville, ND, enrolling about 733 undergraduates. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $90,781/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 39% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads733
Yield (admits who enroll)52%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$20,6572024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,9792024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$11,2372024-25
4-year grad rate40%
Median earnings, 10yr out$47,828

Out-of-state students pay $3,258 more per year in tuition and fees (1.4x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Mayville State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Mayville State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Mayville State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans39%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out62%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$55,118/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,852/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$90,781/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$38,553/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity308
Typical room charge$3,762
Typical board charge$5,760

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Mayville State University cost?

Mayville State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $20,657 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Mayville State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Mayville State University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Mayville State University?

For 2024-25, Mayville State University's published tuition and required fees were $11,237 for out-of-state students and $7,979 for in-state students -- $3,258 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Mayville State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Mayville State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Mayville State University against another school?

Open the comparison view