College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of North Dakota

Public

Grand Forks, ND

Visit website ↗

University of North Dakota, in Grand Forks, ND, is a public large school, enrolling around 9,981 students. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 77% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $106,162/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate77%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads9,981
Yield (admits who enroll)32%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,6052024-25
In-state tuition & fees$12,2892026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$17,4792026-27
4-year grad rate62%
Median earnings, 10yr out$63,552

Out-of-state students pay $5,190 more per year in tuition and fees (1.4x the in-state rate).

Base rate; business, engineering, nursing and aviation cost more. Minnesota residents pay a reduced rate of $13,535.

Tuition & fees are University of North Dakota's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of North Dakota takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against University of North Dakota's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of North Dakota weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans41%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out76%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$50,191/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$82,187/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$68,932/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$65,856/yr
Marketing$64,912/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$64,688/yr
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$53,454/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$56,065/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$86,268/yr
Computer Systems Analysis$72,006/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$51,253/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,955/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$106,162/yr
Petroleum Engineering$99,932/yr
Mechanical Engineering$89,704/yr
Civil Engineering$87,828/yr
Chemical Engineering$87,309/yr
Engineering Technologies and Engineering-Related Fields
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$75,202/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$44,961/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$60,352/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$79,624/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$78,774/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$56,218/yr
Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services$56,130/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$54,558/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Security Science and Technology$62,726/yr
Criminal Justice and Corrections$55,251/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$71,538/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$71,665/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$70,947/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$55,333/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$56,001/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$66,535/yr
Social Sciences, General$52,063/yr
Sociology$49,665/yr
Transportation and Materials Moving
Air Transportation$104,472/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,566
Typical room charge$4,890
Typical board charge$5,280

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of North Dakota's acceptance rate?

University of North Dakota in Grand Forks, ND admits approximately 77% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of North Dakota cost?

University of North Dakota's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,605 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of North Dakota offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of North Dakota takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of North Dakota?

For 2026-27, University of North Dakota's tuition and required fees are $17,479 for out-of-state students and $12,289 for in-state students -- $5,190 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of North Dakota require students to live on campus?

No -- University of North Dakota doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of North Dakota against another school?

Open the comparison view