College Intel
← Back to colleges

Massachusetts College of Art and Design

Public

Boston, MA

Visit website ↗

Located in Boston, MA, Massachusetts College of Art and Design is a public small school with roughly 1,831 undergraduates. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 76% of applicants get in. Education graduates, especially in Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $54,947/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate76%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,831
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineDec 1, 2026 (EA)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Early Action: Dec 1, 2026
  • Regular Decision: Feb 15, 2027

Confirm on Massachusetts College of Art and Design's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$34,2392024-25
In-state tuition & fees$15,4002024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$43,4002024-25
4-year grad rate69%
Median earnings, 10yr out$43,582

Out-of-state students pay $28,000 more per year in tuition and fees (2.8x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Massachusetts College of Art and Design takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

New England Tuition Break

Residents of the other New England states get a reduced out-of-state rate in approved majors. Which majors qualify depends on your home state.

Where do you stand against Massachusetts College of Art and Design's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Massachusetts College of Art and Design weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans51%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out68%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$54,947/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$51,139/yr
Design and Applied Arts$45,716/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$40,999/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity940
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Massachusetts College of Art and Design's acceptance rate?

Massachusetts College of Art and Design in Boston, MA admits approximately 76% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Massachusetts College of Art and Design cost?

Massachusetts College of Art and Design's total cost of attendance is reported at $34,239 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Massachusetts College of Art and Design offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Massachusetts College of Art and Design takes part in the New England Tuition Break, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Massachusetts College of Art and Design?

For 2024-25, Massachusetts College of Art and Design's published tuition and required fees were $43,400 for out-of-state students and $15,400 for in-state students -- $28,000 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Massachusetts College of Art and Design?

Massachusetts College of Art and Design's deadlines are Early Action Dec 1, 2026; Regular Decision Feb 15, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Massachusetts College of Art and Design require students to live on campus?

No -- Massachusetts College of Art and Design doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Massachusetts College of Art and Design against another school?

Open the comparison view