College Intel
← Back to colleges

Indiana University-East

Public

Richmond, IN

Visit website ↗

Indiana University-East, in Richmond, IN, is a public small school, enrolling around 2,589 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 67% of applicants get in. Its highest-earning reported major is Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing (Health Professions and Related Programs), where graduates report median earnings of $82,212/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate67%
SAT range930–11302025-26 CDS
ACT range20–272025-26 CDS
Undergrads2,589
Yield (admits who enroll)28%
Next deadlineNot reported

Test scores for the Fall 2025 entering class come from Indiana University-East's own 2025-26 Common Data Set: 20% submitted SAT scores, 8% submitted ACT scores.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$16,9542024-25
In-state tuition & fees$8,4242024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$22,8112024-25
4-year grad rate42%
Median earnings, 10yr out$47,156

Out-of-state students pay $14,387 more per year in tuition and fees (2.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Indiana University-East takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Midwest Student Exchange Program

Residents of Indiana, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio and Wisconsin pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition in selected programs. The school decides who qualifies.

Where do you stand against Indiana University-East's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Indiana University-East weighs your application

From Indiana University-East's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankVery important
Academic GPAImportant
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Indiana University-East actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Indiana University-East weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans34%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out44%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$67,007/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,886/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$56,141/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,103/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$38,061/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$82,212/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$51,990/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$53,389/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$71,223/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$66,597/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,596/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$43,470/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Indiana University-East look for in applicants?

Per Indiana University-East's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, class rank as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Indiana University-East's acceptance rate?

Indiana University-East in Richmond, IN admits approximately 67% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Indiana University-East?

Per Indiana University-East's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 930–1130 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

What ACT score do I need for Indiana University-East?

Per Indiana University-East's own 2025-26 Common Data Set, the middle 50% of enrolled first-years scored 20–27 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile, among students who submitted scores).

How much does Indiana University-East cost?

Indiana University-East's total cost of attendance is reported at $16,954 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Indiana University-East offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Indiana University-East takes part in the Midwest Student Exchange Program, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Indiana University-East?

For 2024-25, Indiana University-East's published tuition and required fees were $22,811 for out-of-state students and $8,424 for in-state students -- $14,387 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Indiana University-East require students to live on campus?

No -- Indiana University-East doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Indiana University-East against another school?

Open the comparison view