College Intel
← Back to colleges

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Private

Worcester, MA

Visit website ↗

Located in Worcester, MA, Worcester Polytechnic Institute is a private mid-sized school with roughly 5,447 undergraduates. Worcester Polytechnic Institute is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 60%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Science (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $134,208/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate60%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads5,447
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$78,679
4-year grad rate89%
Median earnings, 10yr out$103,470

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Worcester Polytechnic Institute's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Worcester Polytechnic Institute weighs your application

From Worcester Polytechnic Institute's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankImportant
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayConsidered
RecommendationsImportant
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesImportant
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Worcester Polytechnic Institute actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Worcester Polytechnic Institute weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans52%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out92%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$75,018/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$93,298/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$134,208/yr
Computer Software and Media Applications$95,430/yr
Engineering
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering$111,103/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$109,386/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$105,171/yr
Industrial Engineering$101,554/yr
Chemical Engineering$100,199/yr
Mechanical Engineering$97,308/yr
Civil Engineering$93,417/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$92,806/yr
Architectural Engineering$85,112/yr
Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering$78,719/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,369
Typical room charge$9,482
Typical board charge$7,206

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPAConsidered, not required
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Worcester Polytechnic Institute look for in applicants?

Per Worcester Polytechnic Institute's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Worcester Polytechnic Institute's acceptance rate?

Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, MA admits approximately 60% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Worcester Polytechnic Institute cost?

Worcester Polytechnic Institute's total cost of attendance is reported at $78,679 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Worcester Polytechnic Institute require students to live on campus?

No -- Worcester Polytechnic Institute doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Worcester Polytechnic Institute against another school?

Open the comparison view