College Intel
← Back to colleges

Emerson College

Private

Boston, MA

Visit website ↗

Located in Boston, MA, Emerson College is a private mid-sized school with roughly 3,870 undergraduates. Emerson College is moderately selective, with an acceptance rate near 51%. Among reported majors, Marketing shows the strongest outcomes -- $76,623/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate51%
SAT range1270–1420
ACT range29–32
Undergrads3,870
Yield (admits who enroll)19%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$80,399
4-year grad rate78%
Median earnings, 10yr out$62,832

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Emerson College's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Emerson College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans43%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out78%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Marketing$76,623/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$63,337/yr
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$59,301/yr
Communication and Media Studies$59,202/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$51,742/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$61,496/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$49,381/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$49,951/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$44,760/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,578
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Emerson College's acceptance rate?

Emerson College in Boston, MA admits approximately 51% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Emerson College?

Admitted students at Emerson College typically score between 1270–1420 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Emerson College?

Admitted students at Emerson College typically score between 29–32 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Emerson College cost?

Emerson College's total cost of attendance is reported at $80,399 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Emerson College require students to live on campus?

No -- Emerson College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Emerson College against another school?

Open the comparison view