College Intel
← Back to colleges

Westfield State University

Public

Westfield, MA

Visit website ↗

Westfield State University, in Westfield, MA, is a public mid-sized school, enrolling around 3,615 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 81% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Computer Science shows the strongest outcomes -- $95,932/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate81%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads3,615
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,649
4-year grad rate55%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,346

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Westfield State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Westfield State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans51%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out72%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning$59,524/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$64,904/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$66,889/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$56,349/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$95,932/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$53,678/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,049/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$51,322/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$58,290/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$93,248/yr
History
History$51,439/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$67,363/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$51,730/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$54,980/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$51,547/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$55,828/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$54,484/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$55,699/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$72,539/yr
Political Science and Government$60,025/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$43,248/yr
Music$39,692/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,396
Typical room charge$8,300
Typical board charge$4,724

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Westfield State University's acceptance rate?

Westfield State University in Westfield, MA admits approximately 81% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Westfield State University cost?

Westfield State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,649 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Westfield State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Westfield State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Westfield State University against another school?

Open the comparison view