College Intel
← Back to colleges

Western Oregon University

Public

Monmouth, OR

Visit website ↗

Western Oregon University is a public mid-sized school in Monmouth, OR, enrolling about 3,103 undergraduates. Western Oregon University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 98%. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer and Information Sciences, General, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $90,324/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate98%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads3,103
Yield (admits who enroll)21%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$25,0622024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,8792024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$32,5342024-25
4-year grad rate46%
Median earnings, 10yr out$51,815

Out-of-state students pay $20,655 more per year in tuition and fees (2.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Western Oregon University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Western Oregon University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Western Oregon University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans74%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out54%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$45,268/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Commerce, General$59,599/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$49,630/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$90,324/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$54,761/yr
Education, General$46,042/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
American Sign Language$48,295/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Public Health$52,452/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,363/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$53,550/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$54,540/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$52,407/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$51,921/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$31,048/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$30,437/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,300
Typical room charge$9,122
Typical board charge$2,250

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Western Oregon University's acceptance rate?

Western Oregon University in Monmouth, OR admits approximately 98% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Western Oregon University cost?

Western Oregon University's total cost of attendance is reported at $25,062 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Western Oregon University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Western Oregon University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Western Oregon University?

For 2024-25, Western Oregon University's published tuition and required fees were $32,534 for out-of-state students and $11,879 for in-state students -- $20,655 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Western Oregon University require students to live on campus?

No -- Western Oregon University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Western Oregon University against another school?

Open the comparison view