College Intel
← Back to colleges

Portland State University

Public

Portland, OR

Visit website ↗

Portland State University is a public large school in Portland, OR, enrolling about 13,182 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 91% of applicants. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer Science, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $113,889/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate91%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads13,182
Yield (admits who enroll)22%
Next deadlineAug 1, 2027 (RD)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Aug 1, 2027

Confirm on Portland State University's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,5902024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,6792024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$31,0742024-25
4-year grad rate53%
Median earnings, 10yr out$57,906

Out-of-state students pay $19,395 more per year in tuition and fees (2.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Portland State University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Portland State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Portland State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans32%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out54%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Architecture$62,349/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$75,765/yr
Biology, General$54,934/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$79,727/yr
Accounting and Related Services$77,226/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$71,621/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$70,765/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$68,274/yr
Marketing$61,499/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$59,232/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$113,889/yr
Engineering
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$101,905/yr
Mechanical Engineering$94,223/yr
Civil Engineering$86,084/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$43,342/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$50,427/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$51,925/yr
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$50,241/yr
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$39,563/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$59,961/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$59,563/yr
Public Health$58,860/yr
History
History$54,131/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,109/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$50,949/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$68,280/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$57,438/yr
Biological and Physical Sciences$57,303/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$58,961/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$50,191/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$87,488/yr
Chemistry$70,948/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$57,932/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$49,063/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$63,456/yr
Community Organization and Advocacy$51,066/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$75,482/yr
Political Science and Government$59,185/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$56,436/yr
Geography and Cartography$54,310/yr
Sociology$53,753/yr
Social Sciences, General$52,562/yr
Anthropology$41,759/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$56,158/yr
Visual and Performing Arts, Other$51,248/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$45,692/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$41,639/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$40,731/yr
Music$34,160/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,138
Typical room charge$7,365
Typical board charge$5,097

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Portland State University's acceptance rate?

Portland State University in Portland, OR admits approximately 91% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Portland State University cost?

Portland State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,590 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Portland State University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Portland State University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Portland State University?

For 2024-25, Portland State University's published tuition and required fees were $31,074 for out-of-state students and $11,679 for in-state students -- $19,395 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for Portland State University?

Portland State University's deadlines are Regular Decision Aug 1, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does Portland State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Portland State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Portland State University against another school?

Open the comparison view