College Intel
← Back to colleges

Southern Oregon University

Public

Ashland, OR

Visit website ↗

Southern Oregon University, in Ashland, OR, is a public small school, enrolling around 2,751 students. Southern Oregon University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 89%. Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services graduates, especially in Computer and Information Sciences, General, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $75,596/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate89%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,751
Yield (admits who enroll)30%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,6362024-25
In-state tuition & fees$12,7622024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$31,8872024-25
4-year grad rate43%
Median earnings, 10yr out$49,175

Out-of-state students pay $19,125 more per year in tuition and fees (2.5x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Southern Oregon University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Southern Oregon University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Southern Oregon University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans28%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out50%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$63,008/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$65,171/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$49,511/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$75,596/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$53,584/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$49,706/yr
History
History$43,195/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$59,008/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$64,748/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$52,763/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$44,945/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$57,299/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$36,135/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,217/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$61,526/yr
Sociology and Anthropology$43,982/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$43,044/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$38,487/yr
Music$36,201/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,000
Typical room charge$9,913
Typical board charge$6,150

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Southern Oregon University's acceptance rate?

Southern Oregon University in Ashland, OR admits approximately 89% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Southern Oregon University cost?

Southern Oregon University's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,636 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Southern Oregon University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Southern Oregon University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Southern Oregon University?

For 2024-25, Southern Oregon University's published tuition and required fees were $31,887 for out-of-state students and $12,762 for in-state students -- $19,125 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Southern Oregon University require students to live on campus?

No -- Southern Oregon University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Southern Oregon University against another school?

Open the comparison view