College Intel
← Back to colleges

Linfield University

Private

McMinnville, OR

Visit website ↗

Linfield University is a private small school in McMinnville, OR, enrolling about 1,621 undergraduates. Linfield University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 85%. Among reported majors, Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing shows the strongest outcomes -- $109,374/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate85%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,621
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$65,935
4-year grad rate68%
Median earnings, 10yr out$78,638

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Linfield University's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Linfield University weighs your application

From Linfield University's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAImportant
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayImportant
RecommendationsImportant
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Linfield University actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Linfield University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans84%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out80%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$49,714/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$78,683/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$77,983/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$67,946/yr
Marketing$66,731/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$54,091/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$57,975/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$52,429/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$109,374/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$58,347/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$53,493/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,164
Typical room charge$7,480
Typical board charge$6,120

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Linfield University look for in applicants?

Per Linfield University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Linfield University's acceptance rate?

Linfield University in McMinnville, OR admits approximately 85% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Linfield University cost?

Linfield University's total cost of attendance is reported at $65,935 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Linfield University require students to live on campus?

No -- Linfield University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Linfield University against another school?

Open the comparison view