College Intel
← Back to colleges

Eastern Oregon University

Public

La Grande, OR

Visit website ↗

Located in La Grande, OR, Eastern Oregon University is a public small school with roughly 2,172 undergraduates. It's not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, admitting about 98% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities (Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities), where graduates report median earnings of $60,706/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate98%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,172
Yield (admits who enroll)25%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$26,7182024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,0762024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$25,4312024-25
4-year grad rate40%
Median earnings, 10yr out$50,112

Out-of-state students pay $14,355 more per year in tuition and fees (2.3x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Eastern Oregon University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Eastern Oregon University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Eastern Oregon University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans37%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out47%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$59,066/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$56,013/yr
Education
Education, Other$51,176/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$48,894/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$60,706/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$42,838/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$50,279/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$47,816/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, Other$49,611/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity407
Typical room charge$6,340
Typical board charge$4,910

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Eastern Oregon University's acceptance rate?

Eastern Oregon University in La Grande, OR admits approximately 98% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Eastern Oregon University cost?

Eastern Oregon University's total cost of attendance is reported at $26,718 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Eastern Oregon University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Eastern Oregon University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Eastern Oregon University?

For 2024-25, Eastern Oregon University's published tuition and required fees were $25,431 for out-of-state students and $11,076 for in-state students -- $14,355 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Eastern Oregon University require students to live on campus?

No -- Eastern Oregon University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Eastern Oregon University against another school?

Open the comparison view