College Intel
← Back to colleges

Virginia Union University

Private

Richmond, VA

Visit website ↗

Virginia Union University, in Richmond, VA, is a private small school, enrolling around 1,203 students. Virginia Union University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 98%. Among reported majors, General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations shows the strongest outcomes -- $64,924/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate98%
SAT range850–885
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,203
Yield (admits who enroll)11%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$29,075
4-year grad rate39%
Median earnings, 10yr out$38,275

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Virginia Union University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Virginia Union University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans71%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out20%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$40,032/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
General Sales, Merchandising and Related Marketing Operations$64,924/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$39,251/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$42,376/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$45,214/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$50,826/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$38,872/yr
Social Sciences
Criminology$49,024/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity800
Typical room charge$3,976
Typical board charge$5,310

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Virginia Union University's acceptance rate?

Virginia Union University in Richmond, VA admits approximately 98% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Virginia Union University?

Admitted students at Virginia Union University typically score between 850–885 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Virginia Union University cost?

Virginia Union University's total cost of attendance is reported at $29,075 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Virginia Union University require students to live on campus?

No -- Virginia Union University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Virginia Union University against another school?

Open the comparison view