← Back to collegesLiberty University, in Lynchburg, VA, is a private very large school, enrolling around 50,012 students. Admissions are not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants here -- roughly 99% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Air Transportation shows the strongest outcomes -- $102,096/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.
Admissions
Admit rate99%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads50,012
Yield (admits who enroll)20%
Next deadlineNot reported
Cost & outcomes
Cost of attendance$42,025
4-year grad rate64%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,813
From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Liberty University weighs in your application
Paying it back
Undergrads taking federal loans46%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out37%
"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.
Majors & earnings
Biological and Biomedical SciencesBiology, General$50,666/yr
Zoology/Animal Biology$41,103/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support ServicesManagement Information Systems and Services$84,228/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$67,269/yr
Accounting and Related Services$63,307/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related ProgramsCommunication and Media Studies$54,911/yr
Journalism$51,940/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$50,891/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support ServicesComputer and Information Sciences, General$82,116/yr
EducationSpecial Education and Teaching$47,241/yr
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language$46,899/yr
Education, General$41,664/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$40,952/yr
EngineeringIndustrial Engineering$94,928/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$89,244/yr
Mechanical Engineering$89,129/yr
English Language and Literature/LettersEnglish Language and Literature, General$42,576/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human SciencesHuman Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$38,332/yr
Apparel and Textiles$38,226/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and LinguisticsAmerican Sign Language$48,109/yr
Health Professions and Related ProgramsRegistered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$82,883/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$58,969/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$49,103/yr
Public Health$48,926/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective ServicesCriminal Justice and Corrections$61,715/yr
Legal Professions and StudiesLegal Support Services$48,589/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and HumanitiesLiberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$45,257/yr
Mathematics and Statistics Multi/Interdisciplinary StudiesMulti/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$53,357/yr
Multi-/Interdisciplinary Studies, General$46,274/yr
International/Globalization Studies$40,897/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness StudiesSports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$51,061/yr
Philosophy and Religious StudiesReligion/Religious Studies$47,991/yr
PsychologyPsychology, General$45,340/yr
Public Administration and Social Service ProfessionsSocial Work$48,003/yr
Human Services, General$36,290/yr
Social SciencesInternational Relations and National Security Studies$71,436/yr
Political Science and Government$56,550/yr
Social Sciences, General$41,811/yr
Theology and Religious VocationsReligious Music and Worship$51,701/yr
Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries$46,531/yr
Transportation and Materials MovingAir Transportation$102,096/yr
Visual and Performing ArtsDesign and Applied Arts$47,797/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$43,025/yr
Music$42,960/yr
Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.
Campus life
On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity8,823
Typical room charge$6,320
Typical board charge$4,940
Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.
What matters in your application
GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.
Frequently asked questions
What is Liberty University's acceptance rate?
Liberty University in Lynchburg, VA admits approximately 99% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.
How much does Liberty University cost?
Liberty University's total cost of attendance is reported at $42,025 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.
Does Liberty University require students to live on campus?
No -- Liberty University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.