College Intel
← Back to colleges

Upper Iowa University

Private

Fayette, IA

Visit website ↗

Located in Fayette, IA, Upper Iowa University is a private small school with roughly 1,994 undergraduates. Upper Iowa University is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 96%. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $76,345/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate96%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT range17–23
Undergrads1,994
Yield (admits who enroll)28%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$34,022
4-year grad rate38%
Median earnings, 10yr out$52,766

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Upper Iowa University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Upper Iowa University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans40%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out50%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$64,110/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$65,858/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$64,706/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$63,736/yr
Accounting and Related Services$63,645/yr
Marketing$54,858/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$49,098/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$47,790/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,945/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,345/yr
Health and Medical Administrative Services$66,931/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$41,765/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$49,002/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$50,877/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration$70,374/yr
Human Services, General$48,461/yr
Social Sciences
Social Sciences, General$57,430/yr
Criminology$56,767/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$41,109/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity752
Typical room charge$4,472
Typical board charge$5,172

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is Upper Iowa University's acceptance rate?

Upper Iowa University in Fayette, IA admits approximately 96% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What ACT score do I need for Upper Iowa University?

Admitted students at Upper Iowa University typically score between 17–23 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Upper Iowa University cost?

Upper Iowa University's total cost of attendance is reported at $34,022 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Upper Iowa University require students to live on campus?

No -- Upper Iowa University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Upper Iowa University against another school?

Open the comparison view