College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras

Public

San Juan, PR

Visit website ↗

Located in San Juan, PR, University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras is a public large school with roughly 8,572 undergraduates. Admissions are moderately selective here -- roughly 55% of applicants get in. Among reported majors, Finance and Financial Management Services shows the strongest outcomes -- $57,851/year in median earnings four years after graduation. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate55%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads8,572
Yield (admits who enroll)70%
Next deadlineSingle filing period

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$15,118
4-year grad rate51%
Median earnings, 10yr out$35,723

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans5%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out60%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Environmental Design$35,023/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$40,152/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Finance and Financial Management Services$57,851/yr
Accounting and Related Services$57,201/yr
Marketing$46,038/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$34,844/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$33,833/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$40,173/yr
Journalism$32,524/yr
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$24,071/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Science$54,102/yr
Education
Teaching English or French as a Second or Foreign Language$33,207/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$31,848/yr
Special Education and Teaching$30,145/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$25,442/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$40,076/yr
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$29,950/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$31,930/yr
History
History$31,943/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Natural Sciences$39,675/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$26,341/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$43,731/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$30,052/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$33,957/yr
Social Sciences
Political Science and Government$41,417/yr
Economics$38,827/yr
Sociology$35,481/yr
Anthropology$35,103/yr
Social Sciences, General$32,433/yr
Geography and Cartography$31,499/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Fine and Studio Arts$24,409/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$21,825/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's acceptance rate?

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras in San Juan, PR admits approximately 55% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras cost?

University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras's total cost of attendance is reported at $15,118 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras against another school?

Open the comparison view