College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of New Mexico-Main Campus

Public

Albuquerque, NM

Visit website ↗

University of New Mexico-Main Campus, in Albuquerque, NM, is a public very large school, enrolling around 17,244 students. University of New Mexico-Main Campus is not highly selective, admitting a majority of applicants, with an acceptance rate near 95%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $126,356/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate95%
SAT range890–1170
ACT range19–26
Undergrads17,244
Yield (admits who enroll)29%
Next deadlineJun 1, 2027 (RD)

Application deadlines for Fall 2027 entry

  • Regular Decision: Jun 1, 2027

Confirm on University of New Mexico-Main Campus's own admissions site before you apply.

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,2592024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,5752026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$34,7242026-27
4-year grad rate54%
Median earnings, 10yr out$44,792

Out-of-state students pay $23,149 more per year in tuition and fees (3.0x the in-state rate).

Tuition & fees are University of New Mexico-Main Campus's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of New Mexico-Main Campus takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against University of New Mexico-Main Campus's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of New Mexico-Main Campus weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans44%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out48%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Architecture and Related Services
Architectural Sciences and Technology$50,263/yr
Architecture$48,424/yr
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$45,139/yr
Area Studies$37,949/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$51,987/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$48,873/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$62,431/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Journalism$52,760/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$112,064/yr
Education
Special Education and Teaching$53,429/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$50,231/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$49,309/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$126,356/yr
Chemical Engineering$96,810/yr
Mechanical Engineering$94,990/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$90,529/yr
Engineering Science$86,015/yr
Civil Engineering$81,933/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$56,244/yr
English Language and Literature, General$46,850/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences
Foods, Nutrition, and Related Services$46,674/yr
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$46,421/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$45,343/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$31,036/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$86,559/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$84,858/yr
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$71,995/yr
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$67,561/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$49,834/yr
History
History$55,464/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$52,311/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$47,770/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Mathematics$72,979/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
International/Globalization Studies$33,116/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$56,319/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$46,693/yr
Social Sciences
Geography and Cartography$67,336/yr
Economics$62,005/yr
Political Science and Government$52,569/yr
Sociology$52,094/yr
Anthropology$47,958/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Visual and Performing Arts, General$44,091/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$40,085/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$35,527/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity2,492
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What is University of New Mexico-Main Campus's acceptance rate?

University of New Mexico-Main Campus in Albuquerque, NM admits approximately 95% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of New Mexico-Main Campus?

Admitted students at University of New Mexico-Main Campus typically score between 890–1170 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of New Mexico-Main Campus?

Admitted students at University of New Mexico-Main Campus typically score between 19–26 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of New Mexico-Main Campus cost?

University of New Mexico-Main Campus's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,259 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of New Mexico-Main Campus offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of New Mexico-Main Campus takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of New Mexico-Main Campus?

For 2026-27, University of New Mexico-Main Campus's tuition and required fees are $34,724 for out-of-state students and $11,575 for in-state students -- $23,149 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

When is the application deadline for University of New Mexico-Main Campus?

University of New Mexico-Main Campus's deadlines are Regular Decision Jun 1, 2027, per its own published admissions calendar.

Does University of New Mexico-Main Campus require students to live on campus?

No -- University of New Mexico-Main Campus doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of New Mexico-Main Campus against another school?

Open the comparison view