College Intel
← Back to colleges

New Mexico Highlands University

Public

Las Vegas, NM

Visit website ↗

New Mexico Highlands University, in Las Vegas, NM, is a public small school, enrolling around 1,451 students. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $97,309/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 18% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,451
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$20,8682024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,4162024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$12,3362024-25
4-year grad rate26%
Median earnings, 10yr out$45,937

Out-of-state students pay $4,920 more per year in tuition and fees (1.7x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

New Mexico Highlands University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against New Mexico Highlands University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what New Mexico Highlands University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans18%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out42%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,821/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$62,375/yr
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$53,566/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$97,309/yr
Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions$52,517/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$45,868/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$43,926/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity512
Typical room charge$4,680
Typical board charge$4,622

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does New Mexico Highlands University cost?

New Mexico Highlands University's total cost of attendance is reported at $20,868 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does New Mexico Highlands University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- New Mexico Highlands University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at New Mexico Highlands University?

For 2024-25, New Mexico Highlands University's published tuition and required fees were $12,336 for out-of-state students and $7,416 for in-state students -- $4,920 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does New Mexico Highlands University require students to live on campus?

No -- New Mexico Highlands University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing New Mexico Highlands University against another school?

Open the comparison view