College Intel
← Back to colleges

Western New Mexico University

Public

Silver City, NM

Visit website ↗

Located in Silver City, NM, Western New Mexico University is a public small school with roughly 2,026 undergraduates. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $84,626/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 22% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads2,026
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$21,5622024-25
In-state tuition & fees$7,8562024-25
Out-of-state tuition & fees$14,3422024-25
4-year grad rate34%
Median earnings, 10yr out$39,095

Out-of-state students pay $6,486 more per year in tuition and fees (1.8x the in-state rate).

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

Western New Mexico University takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

Where do you stand against Western New Mexico University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Western New Mexico University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans22%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out38%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$84,626/yr
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$56,548/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$46,184/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$49,567/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity377
Typical room charge$5,990
Typical board charge$4,950

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Western New Mexico University cost?

Western New Mexico University's total cost of attendance is reported at $21,562 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Western New Mexico University offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- Western New Mexico University takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at Western New Mexico University?

For 2024-25, Western New Mexico University's published tuition and required fees were $14,342 for out-of-state students and $7,856 for in-state students -- $6,486 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does Western New Mexico University require students to live on campus?

No -- Western New Mexico University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Western New Mexico University against another school?

Open the comparison view