College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Michigan-Dearborn

Public

Dearborn, MI

Visit website ↗

Located in Dearborn, MI, University of Michigan-Dearborn is a public mid-sized school with roughly 5,952 undergraduates. University of Michigan-Dearborn is moderately selective, with an acceptance rate near 56%. Among reported majors, Computer Engineering shows the strongest outcomes -- $111,740/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate56%
SAT range990–1255
ACT range24–28
Undergrads5,952
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$24,040
4-year grad rate57%
Median earnings, 10yr out$59,649

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Michigan-Dearborn's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Michigan-Dearborn weighs your application

From University of Michigan-Dearborn's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordConsidered
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Michigan-Dearborn actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Michigan-Dearborn weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans36%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out47%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Area Studies$60,891/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$53,888/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Management Information Systems and Services$95,864/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$85,068/yr
Accounting and Related Services$78,969/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$76,606/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$76,343/yr
Marketing$73,340/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$52,703/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer Programming$106,484/yr
Computer and Information Sciences, General$90,430/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$49,236/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$111,740/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$105,446/yr
Mechanical Engineering$94,919/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$49,421/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$44,520/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Health and Medical Administrative Services$49,405/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$54,621/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$49,268/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$48,052/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$69,884/yr
Political Science and Government$58,641/yr
Social Sciences, General$31,967/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingNo
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacityNot reported
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of Michigan-Dearborn look for in applicants?

Per University of Michigan-Dearborn's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of Michigan-Dearborn's acceptance rate?

University of Michigan-Dearborn in Dearborn, MI admits approximately 56% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Michigan-Dearborn?

Admitted students at University of Michigan-Dearborn typically score between 990–1255 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Michigan-Dearborn?

Admitted students at University of Michigan-Dearborn typically score between 24–28 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Michigan-Dearborn cost?

University of Michigan-Dearborn's total cost of attendance is reported at $24,040 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Michigan-Dearborn require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Michigan-Dearborn doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Michigan-Dearborn against another school?

Open the comparison view