College Intel
← Back to colleges

Lake Superior State University

Public

Sault Ste Marie, MI

Visit website ↗

Lake Superior State University, in Sault Ste Marie, MI, is a public small school, enrolling around 1,325 students. Engineering graduates, especially in Mechanical Engineering, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $90,216/year. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 37% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,325
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$27,154
4-year grad rate54%
Median earnings, 10yr out$49,045

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Lake Superior State University's numbers?

Check your chances here
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Lake Superior State University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans37%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out62%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$46,435/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$60,167/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$53,396/yr
Engineering
Mechanical Engineering$90,216/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$70,959/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,286/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management$44,090/yr
Physical Sciences
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$56,905/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity916
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankRequired
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Lake Superior State University cost?

Lake Superior State University's total cost of attendance is reported at $27,154 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Lake Superior State University require students to live on campus?

No -- Lake Superior State University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Lake Superior State University against another school?

Open the comparison view