College Intel
← Back to colleges

Alma College

Private

Alma, MI

Visit website ↗

Alma College is a private small school in Alma, MI, enrolling about 1,148 undergraduates. It's moderately selective, admitting about 57% of applicants. Health Professions and Related Programs graduates, especially in Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing, report the strongest earnings here: a median of $80,386/year. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate57%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads1,148
Yield (admits who enroll)15%
Next deadlineRolling admission

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$63,650
4-year grad rate63%
Median earnings, 10yr out$54,742

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Alma College's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Alma College weighs your application

From Alma College's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordImportant
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewConsidered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Alma College actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Alma College weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans57%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out74%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$77,001/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$57,287/yr
Marketing$53,871/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$53,947/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$44,458/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$48,445/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$80,386/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$63,641/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$52,280/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,314
Typical room charge$6,949
Typical board charge$5,674

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Alma College look for in applicants?

Per Alma College's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Alma College's acceptance rate?

Alma College in Alma, MI admits approximately 57% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does Alma College cost?

Alma College's total cost of attendance is reported at $63,650 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Alma College require students to live on campus?

No -- Alma College doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Alma College against another school?

Open the comparison view