College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Iowa

Public

Iowa City, IA

Visit website ↗

Founded in 1847, the University of Iowa is the state's oldest institution of higher education. It was the first public university in the United States to admit men and women on an equal basis, and in 1970 it became the first university to officially endorse a student LGBT organization. The university has been a member of the Association of American Universities since 1909.

Admissions

Admit rate84%
SAT range1130–1330
ACT range21–28
Undergrads22,264
Yield (admits who enroll)23%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$28,596
4-year grad rate74%
Median earnings, 10yr out$64,762

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against University of Iowa's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Iowa weighs your application

From University of Iowa's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankVery important
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresVery important
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsConsidered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityConsidered
Character/personal qualitiesConsidered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Iowa actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Iowa weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans42%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out71%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$46,063/yr
Area Studies$43,083/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$65,072/yr
Biology, General$60,450/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$92,767/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$91,720/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$88,229/yr
Marketing$81,994/yr
Human Resources Management and Services$77,659/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$67,605/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$60,737/yr
Journalism$56,933/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$88,264/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$51,338/yr
Engineering
Chemical Engineering$97,329/yr
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97,208/yr
Industrial Engineering$95,347/yr
Mechanical Engineering$89,078/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$86,894/yr
Civil Engineering$83,350/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$51,679/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters, Other$40,434/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$54,530/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$78,836/yr
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$68,601/yr
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$66,377/yr
History
History$46,819/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$61,200/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Statistics$123,676/yr
Mathematics$82,411/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$67,760/yr
International/Globalization Studies$47,421/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$59,071/yr
Parks, Recreation, Leisure, and Fitness Studies
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$61,732/yr
Parks, Recreation, and Leisure Studies$57,098/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Philosophy$56,786/yr
Physical Sciences
Chemistry$60,227/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$51,031/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$52,451/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$76,746/yr
Political Science and Government$65,923/yr
Criminology$60,947/yr
Geography and Cartography$59,578/yr
Sociology$54,464/yr
Anthropology$42,549/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Dance$60,188/yr
Music$50,180/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$47,892/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$43,192/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$30,231/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity6,497
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsConsidered, not required

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of Iowa look for in applicants?

Per University of Iowa's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, class rank, academic GPA, standardized test scores as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of Iowa's acceptance rate?

University of Iowa in Iowa City, IA admits approximately 84% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for University of Iowa?

Admitted students at University of Iowa typically score between 1130–1330 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for University of Iowa?

Admitted students at University of Iowa typically score between 21–28 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does University of Iowa cost?

University of Iowa's total cost of attendance is reported at $28,596 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Iowa require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Iowa doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Iowa against another school?

Open the comparison view