College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of California-Davis

Public

Davis, CA

Visit website ↗

University of California-Davis is a public very large school in Davis, CA, enrolling about 32,253 undergraduates. University of California-Davis is moderately selective, with an acceptance rate near 42%. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer Engineering (Engineering), where graduates report median earnings of $145,422/year four years out. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required.

Admissions

Admit rate42%
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads32,253
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineSingle filing period, closes Nov 30, 2026

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$41,2382024-25
In-state tuition & fees$18,0772026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$57,3472026-27
4-year grad rate85%
Median earnings, 10yr out$80,838

Out-of-state students pay $39,270 more per year in tuition and fees (3.2x the in-state rate).

Rate for students starting in 2026-27. The UC system holds each entering class's tuition steady for up to six years. The student health insurance fee, which can be waived, isn't included.

Tuition & fees are University of California-Davis's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Where do you stand against University of California-Davis's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of California-Davis weighs your application

From University of California-Davis's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresNot considered
Application essayImportant
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesImportant
Talent/abilityImportant
Character/personal qualitiesImportant
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceConsidered
State residencyConsidered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workImportant
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of California-Davis actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed

What applicants who posted their results listed

83 self-reported applicant profiles from public posts, 2024–25 and 2025–26 admissions cycles: 63 admitted, 20 rejected or waitlisted. Figures read admitted vs. rejected or waitlisted.

Median unweighted GPA3.96 vs 3.86
Listed a national-level award67% vs 55%

No SAT/ACT comparison: University of California-Davis doesn't consider test scores, so none of these applicants' scores were in front of it.

Most common activities

AdmittedRejected or waitlisted
Community service
62%
65%
Research
54%
60%
Tutoring & teaching
48%
40%
Internship
43%
50%
Sports
40%
50%
Founded an organization
40%
45%
Clubs & honor societies
35%
50%
Music
33%
30%

Most common awards among admits

Competition placement · 63%AP Scholar · 38%School award · 32%National Merit · 25%

Who posted

Public high school · 65%Private or boarding school · 26%First-generation · 21%International · 14%

How this compares across big public universities: Big Public University Accepted vs. Rejected Applicants →

These are people who chose to post their results publicly, mostly on Reddit -- a group that skews toward high scores and STEM. They describe posters, not University of California-Davis's admitted class, and recruited athletes are left out. For official numbers, use the admissions figures above.

See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of California-Davis weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans20%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out83%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Agriculture, Agriculture Operations, and Related Sciences
Plant Sciences$72,335/yr
Food Science and Technology$70,571/yr
Agricultural Production Operations$58,236/yr
Animal Sciences$48,441/yr
Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$58,670/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biotechnology$87,406/yr
Genetics$77,411/yr
Microbiological Sciences and Immunology$74,343/yr
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$70,754/yr
Biology, General$68,120/yr
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$66,461/yr
Neurobiology and Neurosciences$63,720/yr
Pharmacology and Toxicology$63,567/yr
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$62,011/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business/Managerial Economics$87,455/yr
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$86,155/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$72,778/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$138,673/yr
Engineering
Computer Engineering$145,422/yr
Engineering, General$114,228/yr
Chemical Engineering$102,649/yr
Mechanical Engineering$102,161/yr
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$98,504/yr
Civil Engineering$95,939/yr
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$93,414/yr
Materials Engineering$89,983/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$59,012/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
East Asian Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$60,939/yr
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$60,797/yr
Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services$58,443/yr
Health Professions and Related Programs
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration$73,595/yr
History
History$57,734/yr
Mathematics and Statistics
Statistics$88,033/yr
Mathematics$72,640/yr
Applied Mathematics$65,508/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Cognitive Science$68,463/yr
Nutrition Sciences$64,519/yr
Natural Resources and Conservation
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$65,983/yr
Wildlife and Wildlands Science and Management$46,209/yr
Philosophy and Religious Studies
Religion/Religious Studies$59,448/yr
Philosophy$58,633/yr
Physical Sciences
Physics$78,569/yr
Chemistry$73,365/yr
Geological and Earth Sciences/Geosciences$73,337/yr
Psychology
Psychology, Other$60,257/yr
Research and Experimental Psychology$57,378/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Public Administration and Social Service Professions, Other$69,702/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$83,248/yr
Social Sciences, Other$68,535/yr
Political Science and Government$67,759/yr
International Relations and National Security Studies$67,056/yr
Sociology$59,171/yr
Anthropology$56,836/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Design and Applied Arts$62,209/yr
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$57,999/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$56,823/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$40,453/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity11,290
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of California-Davis look for in applicants?

Per University of California-Davis's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is University of California-Davis's acceptance rate?

University of California-Davis in Davis, CA admits approximately 42% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

How much does University of California-Davis cost?

University of California-Davis's total cost of attendance is reported at $41,238 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of California-Davis?

For 2026-27, University of California-Davis's tuition and required fees are $57,347 for out-of-state students and $18,077 for in-state students -- $39,270 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of California-Davis require students to live on campus?

No -- University of California-Davis doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of California-Davis against another school?

Open the comparison view