College Intel
← Back to colleges

Loyola Marymount University

Private

Los Angeles, CA

Visit website ↗

Loyola Marymount University, in Los Angeles, CA, is a private mid-sized school, enrolling around 7,094 students. It's moderately selective, admitting about 45% of applicants. Its highest-earning reported major is Computer and Information Sciences, General (Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services), where graduates report median earnings of $127,011/year four years out. On-campus housing isn't required, so many students live off campus.

Admissions

Admit rate45%
SAT range1260–1430
ACT range28–32
Undergrads7,094
Yield (admits who enroll)18%
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$83,943
4-year grad rate79%
Median earnings, 10yr out$78,349

From the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Not every school reports every field.

Where do you stand against Loyola Marymount University's numbers?

Check your chances here

How Loyola Marymount University weighs your application

From Loyola Marymount University's own Common Data Set, 2024-25, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordVery important
Class rankConsidered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayImportant
RecommendationsImportant
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesConsidered
Talent/abilityImportant
Character/personal qualitiesImportant
First generationConsidered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workConsidered
Work experienceConsidered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how Loyola Marymount University actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what Loyola Marymount University weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans29%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out78%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Area, Ethnic, Cultural, Gender, and Group Studies
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$54,897/yr
Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$80,317/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Accounting and Related Services$111,733/yr
Finance and Financial Management Services$109,303/yr
Marketing$82,825/yr
Business Administration, Management and Operations$82,543/yr
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$69,534/yr
Communication, Journalism, and Related Programs
Communication and Media Studies$69,144/yr
Communications Technologies/Technicians and Support Services
Graphic Communications$76,522/yr
Computer and Information Sciences and Support Services
Computer and Information Sciences, General$127,011/yr
Engineering
Civil Engineering$103,223/yr
Mechanical Engineering$96,226/yr
English Language and Literature/Letters
English Language and Literature, General$66,806/yr
Foreign Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$62,024/yr
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$62,148/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Natural Sciences$56,124/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$60,958/yr
Social Sciences
Economics$88,682/yr
Political Science and Government$72,375/yr
Sociology$68,053/yr
Visual and Performing Arts
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$61,500/yr
Fine and Studio Arts$58,468/yr
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$49,135/yr
Dance$35,288/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity3,681
Typical room chargeNot reported
Typical board chargeNot reported

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPARequired
Class rankConsidered, not required
RecommendationsRequired

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does Loyola Marymount University look for in applicants?

Per Loyola Marymount University's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates rigor of secondary school record, academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

What is Loyola Marymount University's acceptance rate?

Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, CA admits approximately 45% of applicants, based on the US Dept of Education's most recently reported figures.

What SAT score do I need for Loyola Marymount University?

Admitted students at Loyola Marymount University typically score between 1260–1430 on the SAT (25th–75th percentile).

What ACT score do I need for Loyola Marymount University?

Admitted students at Loyola Marymount University typically score between 28–32 on the ACT (25th–75th percentile).

How much does Loyola Marymount University cost?

Loyola Marymount University's total cost of attendance is reported at $83,943 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does Loyola Marymount University require students to live on campus?

No -- Loyola Marymount University doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing Loyola Marymount University against another school?

Open the comparison view