College Intel
← Back to colleges

University of Alaska Fairbanks

Public

Fairbanks, AK

Visit website ↗

Located in Fairbanks, AK, University of Alaska Fairbanks is a public mid-sized school with roughly 4,207 undergraduates. Among reported majors, Mechanical Engineering shows the strongest outcomes -- $91,522/year in median earnings four years after graduation. Most students arrange their own housing since on-campus living isn't required. 17% of undergrads take out federal loans to help pay for it.

Admissions

Admit rateNot reported
SAT rangeNot reported
ACT rangeNot reported
Undergrads4,207
Yield (admits who enroll)Not reported
Next deadlineNot reported

Cost & outcomes

Cost of attendance$22,4072024-25
In-state tuition & fees$11,7302026-27
Out-of-state tuition & fees$30,4502026-27
4-year grad rate35%
Median earnings, 10yr out$48,866

Out-of-state students pay $18,720 more per year in tuition and fees (2.6x the in-state rate).

Based on 30 credits a year. UAF plans to charge every new student the in-state rate starting in fall 2027, pending final approval.

Tuition & fees are University of Alaska Fairbanks's own published 2026-27 rates (source); other figures are from the US Dept of Education College Scorecard, most recent year reported. Tuition & fees are the sticker price for a full-time first-year undergrad, before financial aid, and don't include room and board.

Paying less as an out-of-state student

University of Alaska Fairbanks takes part in this regional program, which can cut the out-of-state rate for students from nearby states.

Western Undergraduate Exchange

Students from Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wyoming and the Pacific territories pay no more than 150% of in-state tuition. Each school sets its own requirements, often a GPA minimum, and some majors are left out.

University of Alaska Fairbanks's published WUE rate for 2026-27: $16,380 a year in tuition and fees (source).

Where do you stand against University of Alaska Fairbanks's numbers?

Check your chances here

How University of Alaska Fairbanks weighs your application

From University of Alaska Fairbanks's own Common Data Set, 2025-26, Section C7 -- not a generic admissions checklist. What is a Common Data Set?

Academic factors
Rigor of secondary school recordNot considered
Class rankNot considered
Academic GPAVery important
Standardized test scoresConsidered
Application essayNot considered
RecommendationsNot considered
Nonacademic factors
InterviewNot considered
Extracurricular activitiesNot considered
Talent/abilityNot considered
Character/personal qualitiesNot considered
First generationNot considered
Alumni relation (legacy)Not considered
Geographical residenceNot considered
State residencyNot considered
Religious affiliationNot considered
Volunteer workNot considered
Work experienceNot considered
Level of interest (demonstrated interest)Not considered
BUILD YOUR FIT SCORESee how University of Alaska Fairbanks actually weighs your profile, free, no account needed
See full profile -- financial aid, campus life, and what University of Alaska Fairbanks weighs in your application

Paying it back

Undergrads taking federal loans17%
Loan balance still growing, 3yrs out55%

"Still growing" means a borrower's payments aren't yet covering interest 3 years into repayment -- not a default rate. A high number here can mean real repayment difficulty, or just a lot of grads who deferred for graduate school, so read it alongside the school's typical outcomes above.

Majors & earnings

Biological and Biomedical Sciences
Biology, General$41,862/yr
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services
Business Administration, Management and Operations$70,539/yr
Education
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$54,423/yr
Engineering
Mechanical Engineering$91,522/yr
Civil Engineering$86,819/yr
Homeland Security, Law Enforcement, Firefighting and Related Protective Services
Criminal Justice and Corrections$60,306/yr
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$59,348/yr
Psychology
Psychology, General$43,764/yr
Public Administration and Social Service Professions
Social Work$53,559/yr

Median earnings 4 years after graduation, by major, from the US Dept of Education. Only shown where the school reports a real figure for that major -- most schools don't report every major they offer, especially smaller programs.

Campus life

On-campus housingYes
Required to live on campusNo
Dormitory capacity1,123
Typical room charge$5,150
Typical board charge$5,500

Room and board are shown separately from the cost of attendance above -- that total already includes them alongside tuition and fees, this just breaks out the living-cost portion.

What matters in your application

GPANot reported
Class rankNot reported
RecommendationsNot reported

From this school's own reporting to the US Dept of Education on what it formally requires, considers, or doesn't use when reviewing applications.

Frequently asked questions

What does University of Alaska Fairbanks look for in applicants?

Per University of Alaska Fairbanks's own Common Data Set (Section C7), it rates academic GPA as "very important" in admissions decisions -- its own stated top factors, not a generic guess.

How much does University of Alaska Fairbanks cost?

University of Alaska Fairbanks's total cost of attendance is reported at $22,407 per year, including tuition, fees, and room and board.

Does University of Alaska Fairbanks offer reduced tuition for out-of-state students?

Yes -- University of Alaska Fairbanks takes part in the Western Undergraduate Exchange, a regional program that lets qualifying out-of-state students pay less than the full out-of-state rate. Eligibility depends on your home state, and the school sets its own requirements.

What is out-of-state tuition at University of Alaska Fairbanks?

For 2026-27, University of Alaska Fairbanks's tuition and required fees are $30,450 for out-of-state students and $11,730 for in-state students -- $18,720 more per year for out-of-state students. That's before financial aid, and room and board are extra.

Does University of Alaska Fairbanks require students to live on campus?

No -- University of Alaska Fairbanks doesn't require students to live in on-campus housing.

Comparing University of Alaska Fairbanks against another school?

Open the comparison view